Jump to content


Established Member
  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Community Answers

  1. Matt's post in Bases Loaded 2 outs ball hit to outfield was marked as the answer   
    You've got it. No run can score if the third out is a force out, no matter the situation.
  2. Matt's post in Malicious contact/unsportsmanlike conduct was marked as the answer   
    I don't agree that this is malicious contact from this description. This fits better under unsportsmanlike conduct, which would mean the run counts, there is no out on the incident, and the player is ejected.
  3. Matt's post in MLB rules, timing of ball in glove relative to force out at base was marked as the answer   
    MLB replay guidelines state that for purposes of replay, the moment the ball touches the glove is the moment the ball is considered in possession.
  4. Matt's post in Does the run count was marked as the answer   
    I appreciate you knowing that he was put out on a force.
    In all codes, a force out for a third out negates the run, no matter how it occurs. 
  5. Matt's post in Fly ball to short stop was marked as the answer   
    A runner can legally leave their base when the ball is first touched by a fielder.
  6. Matt's post in Drop 2nd strike was marked as the answer   
    You are correct.
  7. Matt's post in Calls between Home and 1st was marked as the answer   
    Pregame this. We usually use the 45-foot line as our delineation, but we rarely use it. This is where the pregame comes in. The general rule is that on plays between home and the cutout, we're going to make eye contact as we process what we saw. If it was a tag, whoever had the tag in front of them will indicate they're taking it. The 45-foot line only comes in when neither have anything definitive and that's who's going to make the safe call.
  8. Matt's post in Ball bounces in front of home plate and batter swings and misses. was marked as the answer   
    It is a strike--it cannot be a called strike, but a strike is also a pitch that is struck at by the batter and missed.
  9. Matt's post in Little league umpire signals out on a tag play at home but verbalizes safe. What happens? was marked as the answer   
    They figure out what they really meant and then communicate that accordingly.
  10. Matt's post in Travesty? was marked as the answer   
    The appropriate call? None. Everyone can stand there and wait until something happens. 
  11. Matt's post in TAG OR FORCE STANDS was marked as the answer   
    This isn't a force out. This is an appeal for failing to tag up. Once the runner has retouched the base from which he started, he has corrected his infraction. If he overruns going back to his original base, he must be tagged while off the base to be out.
  12. Matt's post in Baserunner Slides Into Base Puts Up Hand... Kills all plays? was marked as the answer   
    When time is called, no bases can be run (except as awarded) and no plays can occur until the ball is made live again.
  13. Matt's post in Re ambi infielder was marked as the answer   
    Short answer...
    As long as the fielder does not intentionally contact the ball with the glove removed from its proper place on his body, there is no infraction.
  14. Matt's post in Drop 3rd with a runner on first was marked as the answer   
    With two out and first base occupied, the batter is not out on the uncaught third strike, and any runners forced to advance by virtue of him becoming a runner are liable to be forced out.
    With less than two out, the batter is out on the third strike, and runners are not forced.
  15. Matt's post in Pick off to third base was marked as the answer   
    In OBR and those OBR-based sets that have adopted the rule banning feints to third, this is a balk. All others, this is legal. Whether he is left- or right-handed is irrelevant.
  16. Matt's post in Fair or foul was marked as the answer   
    Any untouched batted ball that touches a base is fair.
  17. Matt's post in runner position after out of play throw was marked as the answer   
    A throw from an outfielder that goes out of play results in all runners being awarded two bases from the time of the throw. Your umpire was incorrect. Also, there is no such thing as one plus one. If you have an umpire that says this, you have to be suspect of everything that game. 
  18. Matt's post in Is it a ball or no pitch? was marked as the answer   
    In FED, the pitch never happens as the ball is dead on the balk.
    In all others, let it play out. If all runners including the batter-runner advance at least one base, the balk is ignored. If not, it is no pitch and runners advance one base.
  19. Matt's post in DH re-entry was marked as the answer   
    Both can re-enter. All starters have re-entry privileges, and all re-entries must occur in the same spot in the batting order. Being that the role of the DH was eliminated with the new batter, only one of the starters can be in the lineup at a time from here on out.
  20. Matt's post in Tag up question was marked as the answer   
    I think you have the concept correct. He has to retouch first before touching second or else he is in jeopardy of being called out on appeal.
  21. Matt's post in Balk question - Complete Stop? was marked as the answer   
    You're right. There's not much more I can say--the rule says complete stop. That means everything must be stopped at the same point in time.
  22. Matt's post in Balk!! was marked as the answer   
    A. Depends on rule set.
    B. If he persists after warning (OBR), it's an ejection, not removal from the mound.
    C. This should just about never be enforced.
  23. Matt's post in Out or NOT? was marked as the answer   
    He is out for a valid appeal of missing home. Once you reach an awarded base and miss it, you are in jeopardy of being put out on appeal.
  24. Matt's post in Batter stepping out of batters box on a double was marked as the answer   
    Can't make that call in that situation unless it's obvious, let alone trying to get it after a conference.
    That being said, this is not protestable. They fixed it on the play it occurred, and ended up with the result it would have been had it been called immediately. No rules were applied incorrectly.
  • Create New...