Jump to content

Matt

Established Member
  • Posts

    4,322
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    95

Everything posted by Matt

  1. You cannot possibly be this ignorant as to how discourse works. Hell, I'm autistic and still grasp it. Think about sitting TF down every now and then.
  2. Matt

    4th Out?

    R2 abandoning before the out on B/R is physically impossible without a miscue from the defense.
  3. Matt

    Missed bag

    Color me surprised that FED didn't think of this problem when adding the dead-ball appeal... I would have to say that there would be a window from the moment the batter-runner misses the base until they or the replacement touches it. And if that's incorrect, then there's a need for further clarification (and, again, I'm shocked.)
  4. If it had been passing, the run would have scored. From the looks of it, the defense put R1 out at second for the third out, invalidating the run.
  5. Ironically, the way I learned this painfully was to make a call the opposite of the OP. It was a rivalry game at a field named after the offensive manager who had been managing at this level longer than I've been alive. I saw the batter move his hands to bunt, was blocked out, and with as quick and as sharp as he moved the bat, I just knew it had to be a strike...and I was the only one who thought so. I remember this because I had to use every tool in the book not to toss the manager, as this was the year the decree came down about being firm on not allowing them to come out on B/S of any type. I probably looked like some sort of drunken Michael Jackson shuffling backwards with my hand up telling him as many times as I could before having to warn him that he couldn't come out on that. If I could avoid having to take the pen out on something that was my mistake, I was going to do so without sacrificing the integrity of an actual warning. From then on, it was simple--if I get blocked out, see the batter's hands move, and not see the entire bat, I go for help unasked. It has not failed me yet.
  6. There's nothing to lose by just doing it. By waiting, the fuse is already lit.
  7. If you see the bat move and you're entirely blocked out, go to your partner immediately.
  8. I'm not opposed to using coaches to rein in players, but I don't think your request was timed properly. It was a one-off incident at that point that had passed, and asking for help with that player comes off as holding on to that confrontation. I agree with just about everything else you've received here.
  9. If you have a heads-up BR, I can see it. They know R1's out would be a force no matter what, so they'd try to fall on the sword.
  10. To add to this: When you get to the college game, coaches are likely to test you when you get to D3. They will probably test you when you get to D2. They will definitely test you when you get to D1. This is intentional. They know that they are the mouthpieces for their kids' gripes and concerns, and they want to know if you know what you're doing. The warning not only tells them that you know where to draw a line (and that they can get up to that point,) it also shows their teams that their coach's complaints have been heard. If you let too much go before warning, they will be under the impression that they have to be more egregious to get your attention. If you go straight to ejection in a warning situation, it means that they might as well get their piece in immediately since they're getting tossed anyway--even if it was the other side that got penalized. Nothing makes participants more nervous about an umpire than unpredictability, whether it be in their calls or their game management.
  11. It's quite the opposite...the batter is avoiding being a cover.
  12. Matt

    Wrong Ejection

    I'm tossing this coach all day, every day. He's directly undermining my authority I need to officiate a baseball game.
  13. I think you're trying to dance on the head of a pin. With that logic, he has to stay put until the catcher actually attempts a tag--and by then he's going to be liable for interference.
  14. I'm speechless... Actually I'm not, but I'm going to pretend to be.
  15. If we're going with that logic (and it did cross my mind) I think we have to assess no strike at all (unless the pitch itself was one) as that is one of the listed exceptions.
  16. The case plays contradict each other. 5.2.1A says you only get one strike (on the pitch.) I'm going to stop lest I go on another FED rant.
  17. The whole time I was adding an "it" to a sentence so I thought it was the ball.
  18. Are we all ignoring the elephant in the room about FED's definition of when a ball passes an infielder?
  19. It is absolutely baiting. Either you heard it or you didn't. If you did, act accordingly. If not, it's no different from the other things we don't pick up during a game.
  20. No, no one does. The batter isn't out. Call the pitch on its own merits. There was no reason to invoke the rule.
  21. Here's why (and a new thing I pregame...) Last year, on my plate, a batter chopped one near, but not off, the end of his foot; I could see clearly that it didn't hit him. My (extremely competent) partner killed it. Had he waited, he would have noticed that I was decisively officiating a ground ball, not thinking through a call/no-call. Here's the new pregame that we've considered. Just like any other time where it looks like something has occurred but nothing has, the primary umpire giving an indication of such when they are sure there was no contact would then keep BU from taking this call incorrectly.
×
×
  • Create New...