Jump to content

Matt

Established Member
  • Posts

    4,547
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    100

Matt last won the day on April 28

Matt had the most liked content!

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

Matt's Achievements

1.9k

Reputation

24

Community Answers

  1. Matt

    TWO BASES?

    He cited the whole of 8-3-5. The relevant part for what we're discussing is the last line, which governs throws by an outfielder. I believe the reasoning for citing all of it, aside from ensuring completeness, was to highlight how confusingly that rule is written and highlight the mental flow chart someone has to use to extract the proper portion to apply.
  2. Matt

    TWO BASES?

    No. For the purposes of the plays in this thread, the award is 2 bases TOT.
  3. Matt

    TWO BASES?

    <OBR>Yep. And, if they go and correct it (of which the issue is legal acquisition of a base,) then the award then becomes 3B. (Wendlestedt footnote 317.) Here's why touching is not operative: if (somehow) R1's miscue was not in leaving early, but in missing 2B, the award is HP, correct? It is not "the last base touched when the ball was released," as someone else here erroneously reiterates, because then we would award 3B, no matter where they were on the field at TOT.
  4. Matt

    TWO BASES?

    Grow up.
  5. Matt

    TWO BASES?

    No, the issue is you're still not getting that "touched" is not the operative word and is not the same as TOT. You said what you said--I did not half-read it.
  6. Matt

    TWO BASES?

    That's not what the issue is. The key word is "touched." The runner's position at TOT is not necessarily the same as the last base they touched.
  7. Dammit... Okay, my answer is limited to if it hits the top of the wall, per the last question.
  8. ...and that's why to me, logically, the OP is a home run. If a ball is a home run by passing out of the playing field touching only the top of the wall, then by the definition of home run, it left the playing field in flight. The definition of a ball in flight includes a ball that has touched a fielder. If the top of the wall doesn't render a ball no longer in flight, and we know touching a fielder doesn't, then touching both should not matter--whether it's fielder then top of fence, or top of fence then fielder. If the issue is the vertical plane, then it doesn't matter what happens after it hits the top of the fence, and should be a home run at that point (and no balls on top should be considered in play.) This is not how I would necessarily rule on the field were this situation ever to happen to me, however.
  9. It specifies that abandonment is a force. There is no appeal in the case play.
  10. Wendlestedt case play AP24 matches this one and states that abandonment before reaching a forced base is a force out.
  11. Matt

    Balk high school

    None of this is true.
  12. That's most of my summer schedule. While we use OBR (functionally unchanged) for rules, we generally use CCA mechanics because it's what we all do in the spring and it's what they are used to seeing (even if they don't consciously understand umpiring, they understand when something seems different.) I would also suggest that the point isn't a directive to the batter, but a signal that PU judged that it was a situation awarding the base.
  13. Matt

    BU Ejection

    I'm not sure what FPSR has to do with this situation. I'm also not sure what the OC meant by that comment.
×
×
  • Create New...