Jump to content

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Posts

    5,307
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    23

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. I'm not calling it at my levels but it certainly is a balk in MLB: The previous call: MLB Ejection 126 - Pat Hoberg (1; Aaron Boone) - Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League - Umpire-Empire
  2. Is this OBR or FED? I thought it was OBR based on one catcher’s skullcap. If OBR there is no FPSR. There is a rule about sliding to bases on double play attempts.
  3. I think you have the tail wagging the dog when you don't allow a runner to go into his base standing up on a force play. The addition of 6.01(j) was to prevent slides away from the base which were designed to take out the pivot man. I don't think you can literally use the lack of a bona fide slide to call interference on a runner going in standing up. Let's say a runner did slide straight in complying with the rule and popped up, now standing on the base. That would not be considered interference if it hindered the pivot man. I also don't think we can allow that runner to overrun HP and interfere. While Wendelstedt protects the BR when overrunning 1B I don't think we can protect a runner overrunning HP. If we do, I don't think he is protected all the way to the dugout so where would the protection stop?
  4. If it was strike 3 the batter is already out. The runner is then called out for interference by a teammate.
  5. Other a home run or out of play ball I don’t think we have to put the ball in play. I think we consider the ball live while the defense can appeal between innings or game end.
  6. Jimurray

    Base runner

    In OBR if this was a batted ball instead of an award R1 could be called out for abandonment and it would be a time play. But a fourth out appeal of the missed base would be a force out. FED doesn't address whether abandonment is a force out but in my FED games I'm leaving and not calling abandonment but ready to stop and rule on an appeal.
  7. Jimurray

    Ejection

    i guess I'm going to have to say that maybe the guys wearing umpire uniforms, bought who knows where, who have called balls and strikes for you the last three years have not been doing their job. Take that back. How can a guy who does not know his job be accused of not doing it. There might be a clearer version to story but as told even LL minors would get ejected.
  8. This screenshot shows him legal. The lines are part of the box. As PU I would be waiting to call that inside strike that might even hit the batter's knee.
  9. Jimurray

    Base runner

    If this game was played under OBR/MLB/NCAA rules only the batter needed to touch 1B and R3 touch home for the run to count under a game winning HBP. If the game was played under FED all runners needed to touch their advance base and the appeal of r1 would be a force so no run would score. @flyingron this is the second appeal thread you have kicked.
  10. Take the bolded out of your vocabulary.
  11. A quick review of the ESPN Michigan game showed a toe extended over the inside line with no correction and a back foot slightly outside the box which the PU corrected. In both cases those were legal positions to hit the ball but violate the initial batting position rule. Sometimes if no one complains we leave minor violations alone since they become legal as the pitch is on the way. But give us a game/batter/inning with the 4 inch exceedance or foot touching the plate.
  12. The only citation for your use would be either an interp or caseplay which I can't find right now that does not penalize R1 who gets hit by a throw when he is halfway to 2B after being forced out. After that you are on your own.
  13. That interp does not require 2 feet touching the ground. On the ground only applies in determining whether a touch of the passed base is required when advancing again.
  14. I’m not your brother.
  15. Wow, that is a new one for me. All those MLB and other code overruns that went to 2B on an overthrow were appealable if both feet were on the foul side of the line during the overrun? EDIT: Nevermind, you and they are talking about an overrun coming back to the base. That makes sense to require both feet in foul territory but I think we called it that way prior to any interp.
  16. Carl Childress was not narrow minded. In his 2008 BRD he took advantage of this wording to make it a difference between OBR and FED/NCAA and concocted a play where a run would score because a following runner was "put out" in FED/NCAA but would not score in OBR because a following runner was not a force out. Quotes from that difference include: "neatly illustrates a problem with the OBR language." and "When someone behind a runner makes an out, the force is removed (OBR language notwithstanding)". He mentioned removing that third world play in his 2011 BRD and just noted the difference between FED/NCAA and OBR without delving into any ramifications.
  17. The interp for 5.06(b)1 only has diagrams for 2B and 3B because you can't be forced to return from 1B to HP. Thus the "if forced to return" statement in the rule. I don't remember any written cite for passing 1B but I probably heard it at an Evans Clinic. But common sense would say that if there was a possibility of the runner touching 1B on the way by he hasn't passed it yet. Once that possibility ceases, even if both feet were in the air, he has passed 1B. Ask the facebook crowd where the diagram is for 1B in the interp.
  18. Your screenshot is of the MLBUM interp regarding retouching bases. Your answer is in the actual rule. 1B never has to be retouched to return home.
  19. That interp applies to 2B and 3B as shown, bases that need to be retouched if you have passed it and need to return due to a caught fly. For 1B we consider the runner past if no foot can touch the base, in the air or otherwise. If a toe is the only thing over the back edge of the base without touching and the ball gets there we have an out. If that toe has cleared the back edge of the base and the ball gets there we have a missed base and currently we signal safe although it used to be no signal.
  20. I think you exaggerate but video/game/inning would help as would if this was a starting position or a hitting the ball position. Toe/s on the plate would not be illegal for hitting the ball if heel/s were/was touching the line.
  21. Jimurray

    Runs scoring

    Did you read the WRIM (Wendelstedt Rules Instruction Manual) cite in the 2017 thread? The order of multiple appeals of missed forced bases does not matter in OBR if the force existed at the time of the miss.
  22. But you should respond in the current thread to avoid confusion. Or @moderater please conjoin.
  23. No, that's not the answer.
  24. Jimurray

    Runs scoring

    Updating after searching it appears the cite is in @Senor Azul's 2016 BRD:
×
×
  • Create New...