Jump to content

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Posts

    5,303
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    23

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. No, the umpire indicated a step balk by tapping his leg. That signal tells the manager not to come out. It's in the last PBUC I've read (year unknown) and more than likely the MLBUM.
  2. I think you're right. But, it was called a step balk.
  3. Nope. Broke his front knee on the jump turn. You can see U2 pointing to the left knee right after he calls it. Tapping the leg was a signal that it was a step balk and an automatic ejection if the manager comes out. There might have been a little distance and direction in slo mo. Real time it looked like no step.
  4. Would he have had a better look if he was not in the batter's box. I've seen this in the Pros a few times now and the result was not accurate. Has the mechanic for taking plays at the plate changed?
  5. Soapbox, your league doesn't use the 10 run rule?
  6. Looks like Cano tried to help sell the call by looking for damage to his hand or batting glove. Unfortunately, he was looking at the wrong hand.
  7. Nomah may be (is) an idiot but but I don't see how they got this outcome. Unless you see an intentional pause and shoulder turn into the catcher. Then maybe the BR should be out and return the runner.
  8. Do I need to rethink my HP play positioning? This is the second clip I see (first was Joe West in the RH batter's box when Posey got crashed) with the PU in the RH batter's box to call the play. I'm thinking being that close you are only going to see the tag or the foot touch but not both. Being furthor away like most of us are taught might be better. But, those guys know more than me.
  9. Not for leaving the box but for not stepping into the the box and bat. You call it a strike no matter what.And Give the extra Strike. 7-3-1 Penalty: For failure of the batter to be ready within 20 seconds after the ball has been returned to the pitcher, the umpire shall call a strike. If the batter leaves the batter's box, delays the game, and none of the above exceptions apply, the plate umpire shall charge a strike to the batter. The pitcher need not pitch, and the ball remains live. So if the batter steps out with both feet, without being granted time by the umpire, and the umpire judges that the batter delays the game, he may issue a strike. If the pitcher also delivers the pitch, another strike shall be called no matter the location of the pitch. You don't get 2 strikes on one pitch in 7-3-1. The "So ..." statement is Grayhawk's erroneous conclusion. Edited to add: The penalty strike referenced in 6-4-d-1 is from 7-3-1 so on furthor reflection Grayhawk is correct. You get 2 strikes under 6-4-d-1. Situation b where the batter steps out with both feet and does not get time and the pitcher delivers a pitch. You get a penalty strike and an automatic strike on the pitch. Most chapters I'm aware of encourage not seeing the second foot go out and just call 1 strike on the pitch. You will get enough flak on 1 strike when it's nowhere near the strike zone.
  10. I believe PONY allows metal cleats at any age as long as they are not altered by "sharpening". The local PONY league can have a house rule not allowing them but I'm told once you go to tournament play no house rules are allowed.
  11. Check the subtle change to the FED Umpire manual. They recommend both umpires check the equipment together. They don't say it but I'm guessing one checking and one holding the approved BESR composite list. Although I'm guessing that by the time the season starts every manufacturer will have their composite bat on the list.
  12. Since you are TASO the FED rule is 8-4-1d.2. The rule is straightfoward but anyway, 2 cases are 8.4.1 Sit A and Sit B. Been in the FED rule book quite a while. The OBR wording regarding foul when in the box was added recently to reinforce the unwritten interp that existed.
×
×
  • Create New...