Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

41 Neutral

More information about you

  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    LL, Ripken, HS

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Some guy’s posting baseball videos on YouTube and his lip reading game seems on point IMO.
  2. Watching CWS opening games this weekend I noticed every PU would call pitch location on a ball (e.g. “inside”, “outside”). Sometimes the location would completely replace the “ball” call. I haven’t watch NCAA baseball this year and now I’m wondering if calling ball location is an accepted mechanic at that level. I’ve always thought announcing pitch location to everybody instead of simply calling “ball” is a recipe for trouble...
  3. That's exactly what I'm looking for in FED. Thanks for the interp reference, @scrounge - I just looked it up and posted below. And like @Richvee said I don't see why other codes would differ here. SITUATION 16: R2, on second base, rounds third and runs into F5 as he attempts to field a foul fly ball. This action occurred with (a) a count of 1-1; (b) a count of 1-2; or (c) two outs. RULING: In all three instances, R2 is out for his interference. In (a), the batter returns to bat with a count of 1-2 and in (b), the batter returns to bat with a count of 1-2 as the pitch is treated as a foul for the batter’s count. In (c), the batter will lead off in his team’s next offensive half-inning. (7-4-1f)
  4. HTBT, but at that level I'm fine with verbal acknowledgement and nipping it right here. But IMO, if players decide to act like that they'd better be swinging away on the next pitch anywhere near that location. Now A) reaching the bat across the plate to touch the other batter's box line, or B) line-drawing in general - that's a different story. I'm going right to the "that's enough" warning in A and likely tossing in B. Just one ump's opinion...
  5. (This was a situation that nearly happened to me last week in an adult league game - modified OBR rule set. Thankfully there wasn't any interference on the play but it got me wondering what the right call is...) 1 out, bases full. No count on batter. Batter hits fly ball in foul territory on 3B side. R3 interferes with F5 who's running towards foul territory to catch the ball. F5 manages to catch the foul fly ball despite the interference. So what do we have? Here are 3 outcomes I see possible. R3 is out, and ball is foul is since time is called at time of interference (despite being caught by F5). R2 + R1 return to bases occupied at TOP. Batter remains at bat with count 0-1. R3 is out AND batter is out on the foul fly catch. R2 + R1 return to bases occupied at TOP. When F5 catches ball ignore interference since it did not prevent the defense from obtaining an out. Bases remain full and next better steps in with 1 out. I've been thumbing through OBR and FED rule books for what to call here but I can't find any rule (or combination of rules) that support any of these calls. My gut tells me it's #1 and that's what I would have called in that game had interference happened. Would appreciate some help on what the call is here, w/ rule references (OBR + FED). Thanks!
  6. From a HS game today in Hampton, NH. https://twitter.com/JayPinceSMG/status/1119358222383632384 For that level of service you'd better be tipping the delivery guy well...
  7. Nope. See below. I've got both the slotted Champro and a Zett. Both work well on my +POS Zero G. Good call getting TW pads.
  8. Really appreciate the feedback from everyone - this will help me work in the umpire angle much better in interviews.
  9. Does anyone have stories / advice about talking about your umpiring experience as an asset in a job interview (or adding it on your resume)? I wonder if employers generally see amateur sports officiating as a "side hustle" or "hobby" that doesn't provide valuable real-life experience (as opposed to a full-time job). I'd love to hear why you think umpiring experience at any level can be a highly-valuable commodity in the workplace.
  10. Does anybody have OBR citation to support calling catcher interference (or catcher's balk) when F2 reaches across or stands on/in front on home plate to receive a pitch and the batter make contact with F2 on the swing? All I can find is 6.01(g) which only applies when runner is stealing home or attempting squeeze play.
  11. Scotty_Ump


    I see what you mean here. Still, we tend to over-value things often because of the brand name. Kudos to good marketing and branding. I also don't believe "cheap" (in dollars) necessarily equals "less safe." Those $30 masks on closeout were probably selling for close to 2x that amount before. Diamond is likely unloading excess inventory at thinner margins. But I'm also a guy who just purchased a Force3 V2 full-price at Ump-Attire because I believe it offers the best protection for the highest level of ball I call. I also have a Wlson Gold after I skimped in my early days on a cheap used Diamond soft-shell. Lesson learned there. As far as any safety concerns with the Diamond mask, I've seen D1 and AA umpires wearing the iX3 facing 90+ mph pitching. I think that says something about getting what you pay for.
  12. Scotty_Ump


    Grab this Diamond iX3 on closeout ($30!) and then swap the pads for black Team Wendy pads. That's money well spent. I wouldn't recommend paying full-price for a brand-new Wilson Dyna-Lite mask in your second year. Diamond makes a quality affordable mask that doesn't skimp on protection.
  13. When coaches start yapping about my zone, I simply look away and show them my Champro harness. That shuts them up pretty quickly.
  14. Thank you all for clarifying the rule for me. The journey to getting it right 100% of the time never ends!
  15. 12u playing FED rules. With R1 stealing 2B, F2 would move up on the pitch and catch the ball with his glove over home plate. Batter was taking all the way. First time, I told F2 to stay back - more out of safety concerns than rules. It happened again later (batter takes) and I did hear DC call out to F2 from bench about staying put and out of the way of bat. Then it happens a third time (batter was taking all the way again) and OC now wants me to call "catcher's balk" and award batter 1B and R1 moves to 2B. I tell him I've got nothing unless batter attempts swing and contacts F2 - unless runner is attempting steal of home. Thankfully F2 didn't do it again and we didn't have any issues going forward. But I don't think I got this one right. Thinking about it, that means F2 could legally catch ball standing on home plate and throw out R1 without penalty if the batter doesn't swing and contact F2...
  • Create New...