Jump to content

mrumpiresir

Established Member
  • Posts

    332
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by mrumpiresir

  1. 4 hours ago, Guest Baldie said:

    Thanks everyone! I specifically pointed out that the ball hit the cacther.

    On the other hand, if no contact with the ball was made by any defensive player, that would be a foul ball, right?

    Yes, if it went into foul territory before passing first base.  If the ball passes first base and then goes into foul territory, it would be a fair ball.

    • Like 1
  2. Game tied, bottom of the tenth, home team batting, 1 out, runners on first and third.  Batter hits a deep fly ball that is caught, with the runner on third tags and scores easily.  Runner on first plays the fly ball halfway, and in the celebration never returns to first.  Defensive team appeals to first base.  Does the run count and is the game over?

    On 10/28/2019 at 2:53 PM, spark2212 said:

    Yes and no in that order. Those plays are still timing plays.

    I don't know, but I'm guessing it has something to do with the thread being 4 months old?

    Why has no one corrected this in four months?  I'm somewhat surprised because people here usually point out incorrect comments. 

  3. 4 hours ago, Jimurray said:


    I agree that it's not a force at 1B but NFHS calls it that in one of their case plays and I think I just heard a CWS umpire call it that in one of the 2/5/20 videos they have on Arbiter. I think you need to winnow thru some later threads to correct the same misnomer in case we haven't in those threads. We might have missed some. Sometimes we just shake our heads instead of correcting the misnomer:)

     

    Let's allow our drinking buddies to call it whatever they want but I am a strong believer that umpires should use the proper terminology. I have learned a lot about the nuances and the differences between the rule sets because of this forum and recommend it to umpire friends of mine. It totally amazes me how little the lay person knows about the rules to the game.

  4. 4 minutes ago, Biscuit said:

    Just fyi, next time you find a thread via search, check the last date posted. Not trying to put you down or discourage participation, we've all been there when it comes to zombieing threads, just a heads up for next time.

    I have pretty much retired from doing a lot of games after 30 years of umpiring and have not visited this forum in a long time.  What you stated in the past was wrong and I just wanted to correct that.  Forgive me for pointing out that incorrect information.

    • Like 1
  5. On 10/31/2019 at 12:31 PM, humanbackstop19 said:

    Anytime there's a force play on the batter-runner at first base, a play is being made on them; making it required they are inside the RL at 45'.  If they're making a turn.....there's no play being made on them; so they don't have to be in the lane.  If there is a play being made on them and they are running outside the lane after 45', they are running illegally to first base.  A penalty only comes into play when interference occurs during the play.  

    Just to be accurate, there is never a force play at first base.

  6. 18 minutes ago, NavyBlue said:

    I believe the team can refuse to advance on the balk.    OBR 5.06(b)(3)  "Each runner, other than the batter, MAY without liability to be put out, advance one base when:  (A) There is a balk."  Doesn't state that they have to.

    No, that is not correct. 

    The penalty for a balk;

    PENALTY: The ball is dead, and each runner shall advance one base without liability to be put out, unless the batter reaches first on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, in which case the play proceeds without reference to the balk. The phrase " MAY without liability to be put out" means just what it says. He may advance without putting himself in peril of being put out.  The offense has no choice on the balk.

  7. Over the years I have heard that the spin move by a right handed pitcher is technically a balk but I cannot see what rule is violated. Some people have said you cannot move your front foot first when a right hander does the spin move. If that were true, he could never step and throw to third base or do the spaghetti move. So, exactly why is this technically a balk?
     
     
     
     
  8. I've been curious about this for some time.  Is it a balk for left handed pitcher to bring his leg up to the balance point, not moving toward the plate, then step and throw to first?  Or does it violate the step directly to the base rule?  I think I've seen it called both ways.

    www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFS3mtTBq7o

  9. 36 minutes ago, Guest ftb2ss said:

    #1 is not a balk as long as he separates his hands after his step-off.  From the wind-up a pitcher may do 3 things, pitch, pick-off or step off.  Wind-up position requires both hands to be holding the ball in-front of the pitcher.  What commits the pitcher to pitch from the wind-up is the motion of the non-pivot towards home.  OBR 5.07(a)(1) Comment provides the information for the rule.

    # 1 is a balk.  Once the pitcher starts his motion he is committed to deliver the pitch.  If he is going to step off the rubber he must do it prior to any motion associated with his delivery.

    5.08 (a)

    (1) The Windup Position
    The pitcher shall stand facing the batter, his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and the other foot free. From this position any natural movement associated with his delivery of the ball to the batter commits him to the pitch without interruption or alteration. He shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in his actual delivery of the ball to the batter, he may take one step backward, and one step forward with  his free foot. When a pitcher holds the ball with both hands in front of his body, with his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and Rule 5.07(a) 34 his other foot free, he will be considered in the Windup Position.

  10. 10 hours ago, Jimurray said:
    1. (b)  If a play follows the violation called by the umpire, the manager of the team at bat may advise the umpire-in-chief that he elects to accept the play. Such election shall be made immediately at the end of the play. However, if the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batsman, or otherwise, and no other runner is put out before advancing at least one base, the play shall proceed without reference to the violation.

    2. (c)  Even though the team at bat elects to take the play, the violation shall be recognized and the penalties in subsection (a) will still be in effect.

    3. (d)  If the manager of the team at bat does not elect to accept the play, the umpire-in-chief shall call an automatic ball and, if there are any runners on base, a balk. 

    The offensive team NEVER has a choice on a balk under the 13 violations listed under 6.02 (a).

    The rule you posted is for delivering a pitch which is put in play when violations of the following occur;

    (2) expectorate on the ball, either hand or his glove;
    (3) rub the ball on his glove, person or clothing;
    (4) apply a foreign substance of any kind to the ball;
    (5) deface the ball in any manner; or
    (6) deliver a ball altered in a manner prescribed by Rule
    6.02(c)(2) through (5) or what is called the “shine” ball,
    “spit” ball, “mud” ball or “emery” ball. The pitcher is
    allowed to rub the ball between his bare hands.
    (7) Have on his person, or in his possession, any foreign substance.

     

  11. 7 minutes ago, maineump said:

    You can use the DH on defense in FED as well, it just ties the 2 players to the same slot in the line-up. Each player (starter) may leave and return to the line-up. If the DH enters on defense, it negates the DH role, but both players still have re-entry.

    The 10 spot works fine, if you have the DH for the pitcher, as you describe here.

    Throw in the NCAA rule where the P is also the DH in the 9-man line-up. I don't see this very often, but it is an option in the rules.

    I know you can use the DH on defense in FED..  My point is that in FED the defensive player is locked into the same spot in the batting order as the DH but under OBR the pitcher could bat somewhere else. 

×
×
  • Create New...