Jump to content

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 01/13/2020 in all areas

  1. 3 points
    Well, three managers and a GM just got fired.
  2. 2 points
  3. 2 points
    they were investigating the Sox parallel with the Astros investigation Cora was the mastermind at the Astros (benchcoach) .... so when doing the math ... yeah, he's guilty. Karma for being an assclown and turning down the trip to the White House .......douchebag
  4. 2 points
    [I know you're not a lawyer...but I am, so I'm going to use the lawyer analogy. It is not perfect, but here goes:] That's like a lawyer saying. "I read all the statutes, but I'm not going to read any Supreme Court or Court of Appeals decisions." Such a lawyer would be committing legal malpractice. Court decisions give meanings to the statutes; they interpret the statutes and tell persons (and lawyers) how to behave or act accordingly in a particular situation. The NFHS casebook (and the MiLB and MLB Umpire Manuals) tell umpires how to interpret and apply the rules. These publications do not make "suggestions" as to how one should apply the rules (as written in the applicable rule book) on the field during the game. Rather, they tell umpires how they "must" apply the rules (as written in the rule book) during a game. The casebook is binding authority...just like the rule book. Let me give you an example: In OBR, it is written (to paraphrase) that all runners are awarded two bases from the time-of-the-pitch on an overthrow by an infielder that goes into DBT if that overthrow was the first play by an infielder on a batted ball. The key word in that entire definition is "play". Unfortunately, if you were in umpire school with me in 1997 you would not be able to find a definition of what constitutes a "play" for purposes of this rule no matter how hard you looked in the rule book. Rather, you would have to go to the applicable umpire manual to find that a "play" for purposes of this rule is a (1) tag or attempted tag of a base by a fielder in an attempt to retire a runner; (2) a tag or attempted tag of a runner by a fielder in an attempt to retire a runner; or (3) a throw by one fielder to another fielder in an attempt to retire a runner. Without the appropriate casebook, one cannot understand the rule. This is just one example. There are many, many of these in every rule set. Heck, the MLB Umpire Manual has three pages of binding authority on when the defensive team may (and may not) execute a valid appeal of a missed base or a failure to re-touch a base. I am making a friendly suggestion that you re-evaluate your current practice of not "look(ing) in the case book all that much. ANY year."
  5. 2 points
    hey Yank, look at it this way, the fewer players swinging a bat (at the same time), the less likely they are to cause an injury or harm another player. Honestly, I wouldn't want to give a banged up, bruised or bloody player back to mom after the game, would you?
  6. 2 points
    Wait until the Red Sox get their penalty...Cora will get TWO years - one for each year he did it with each team. The problem is easy to solve - get the monitors out of the clubhouses and dugouts - they were put there as part of the replay review system...if the call is so egregiously bad they don't need a monitor to know they want to challenge it...and that's what the replay review system is supposed to support. Not really practical unless only the pitcher or manager calls the pitches...the catcher really can't say anything without the batter hearing...and in most scenarios the catcher calls the majority of, if not all, the game. It also gets problematic with signs to the batter and baserunners - in football the coach communicates with one player on offense and one on defense, and then they relay to their teammates, usually out of earshot of other players...a little more difficult in baseball, and the more ear pieces, the more chance for failure. NFL has pretty well thought out rules about timing, and what happens if one team's equipment fails - not sure if it's really achievable in baseball.
  7. 2 points
    Why apologies? NCAA hasn't changed anything. My response was to @Forest Ump to reinforce why FED is more onerous than NCAA regarding the DH. But I like your question as to "why" for multiple times. No need. In my neck of the woods when we get a 9 man lineup we look it over and confirm with the coach one time: "straight nine?" That one question/observation should suffice for the new change also.
  8. 2 points
    180 degree turn ... tell me your thoughts when it is phrased this way: I understand the rules cited but I still can't see how I or anyone else could realistically allow the offense to benefit in the situation described.
  9. 1 point
    2015 BRD PAGE 7 OFF INTERP 1-D4: FETCHIET: If no NCAA rule or interpretation exists to cover the situation, the umpire should adopt the OBR rule or interpretation. ( phone call to cc, 11/27/01
  10. 1 point
    The FED definition of a force out (2-24-1) is this: "A force-out is a putout during which a runner who is being forced to advance is tagged out, or is put out by a fielder who holds the ball while touching the base toward which the forced runner is advancing." Note that a force out is one that the defense records. This definition is extended to include outs that the defense is prevented from recording by INT (such as the FPSR). When the 3rd out is earned by the defense in this fashion, it nullifies any runs scored during play. It does not include outs that umpires call, for instance for desertion or passing a runner. These outs are "unforced errors" by the offense, and do not nullify runs. I think this reasoning explains the MLBUM ruling as well: force outs earn nullification. Called outs don't.
  11. 1 point
  12. 1 point
    Thanks for the heads up. I was able to get it. I had been planning to buy a plate coat from Out West until how they treated @Razzer Glad I was able to get this one instead. And a much better price too.
  13. 1 point
    Looks like a Wilson titanium. Wires are too small to be steel
  14. 1 point
    A force out is one where the runner was forced too advance due to the batter becoming a runner and is retired before reaching the base he was forced to. Therefore, the BR can never be forced out, though it looks very similar at first and is essentially the same. If the BR is retired before reaching first on a play the third out is recorded on, no runs can score. So, if the BR abandons his attempt to first for the third out, it doesn't matter what happens, no runs score. Similarly, if the third out is a force out, no runs score. In your situation, R1 is forced to second and is retired for the third out before reaching the base he was forced to. Thus, no runs would score.
  15. 1 point
    And it is absolutely ridiculous that MLB will be the last to have an on-field official. And, more than likely, they will be at least more than a decade behind the NFL and more than two decades behind the NBA. Frankly, baseball should have been the first. It is not like one can even make an argument that women are physically unable to officiate baseball...not when baseball is the least physically demanding sport (of the three) to officiate. Its not like we have to run up and down a court (or field) all game long, or risk being crushed by a linebacker trying to make a tackle. Clearly women can run up and down an NBA court with world-class NBA athletes for 48-minutes, and women can handle getting out of the way of huge NFL players hurtling toward them. There really is no excuse for women not to be in MLB by now. The reason there is not has been the toxic male culture that existed in MLB ownership and league offices (now MLB office), and among many of the past professional (MiLB and MLB) umpires. It'll be interesting to see if things have changed as more and more women go to umpire school, and a new generation has taken over MiLB UD and MLB UD.
  16. 1 point
    No,....FM25s have a square throat extension... Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
  17. 1 point
    I found the following interpretation from Rich Marazzi at baseballrulesacademy.com. It is about a catch made by George Springer of the Astros in a game played against the Brewers at Miller Park on September 4, 2019, when Springer made a leaping catch to rob Ryan Braun and end the fifth inning. It is similar to our OP in that the fielder fell backward and landed on his back side and was hurt—he then discarded his glove with the ball inside it. Video does exist if someone can find it and post it here that would be great. Here is an excerpt from Marazzi’s analysis that might help us here… If the ball fell out of his glove the moment he made contact with the ground, it would be ruled no catch. The same would be true if the ball in glove became detached as a result of hitting the ground. But I think he intentionally flicked the ball and glove from his hand after hitting the ground. Therefore, the ground did not cause the ball and glove to be detached. If a batted ball is gloved airborne by a fielder, but the glove/ball combination is ripped off the fielder’s hand and drops to the ground with ball still in glove, it is no catch. If the fielder falls to the ground and is incapacitated with ball in glove still on his hand, the ball would still be in flight and the closest fielder should pull the ball out of his glove to legalize the catch. The ball would still be in flight because it never touched the ground, a wall, a foreign object, an umpire or an opposing player.
  18. 1 point
    Why does this article say former MLB umpire Gerry Davis??? Inquiring minds want to know. When were all you guys in the know going to let us know? Where was the memo? Did not see it here, or at CCS. Or??? Was this a misprint??? What's the scoop??? Real or fake news??? https://www.nbc26.com/sports/mlb-umpire-gerry-davis-bucks-legend-sydney-moncrief-honored-at-red-smith-sports-awards
  19. 1 point
    I'm a bit late on this, Rush has been on of my favorite bands for 35+ years, I tried to learn to be a drummer after listening to Peart. RIP
  20. 1 point
    I don't even try and keep track any more. we have to work 10 or 12 varsity games, and then a "peer rating" (here it comes) groups the crews. 1-4 is Crew #1, 5-8 is crew #2, etc. (Do you see the good ol' boy network working here?)The top crew is usually the one that if moved into states, is the one to go. I've probably had more training and field time than most in my chapter, that based on training/experience should probably land me on crew 2 or 3. Never been higher than crew 4 and 2 or 3 district games. No biggie, not it in for the fame or accolades, so I just move on to the next season.......
  21. 1 point
    That's really up to you. If you are asking if the pads are still safe or good, then that'll depend on appearance. I am sure that all mask pads being sold off the shelf (website) to us were not made this year either. Used pads don't have a huge following as a rule, unless they're super clean and appear to be in good shape still.
  22. 1 point
    Be careful, you might learn the rules too well and decide to become one of us! "The rule book is a pathway to an enjoyment of sports some consider to be... Unnatural" -Sheev Palpatine, probably.
  23. 1 point
    He is very likely Freaky Fast.
  24. 1 point
    Maybe she missed breakfast and was hungry............................HINTING to the boss to buy lunch
  25. 1 point
    ha! maybe if he threw subs instead of baseballs he'd be ok
  26. 1 point
    So my response to UmpAttire on Twitter wasn't correct? and here I thought it was Liberating Unused Cash
  27. 1 point
    I do too. IT comes from what I was taught whilst a member of Uncle Sams Misguided Children. With the break of 5/8" from front to back, it laid nicer on the shoe without looking LIKE $#!T.
  28. 1 point
    I wonder if it makes a farting sound as the air exits the pads. I'd pay for that. Actually, I find this quite interesting. Am I going to ditch my current rig? I dunno. Maybe.
  29. 1 point
    Does this mean he gets kicked off The Positive Coaching Alliances advisory board? Maybe a little pep talk from Jerry Crawford again could help, as he obviously did not listen to Jerry's wisdom the first time around and look what happened by not listening. Look at the scoreboard, that's your fault. So I guess today is also Jerry's fault.
  30. 1 point
    @Thunderheads sold, please lock it up
  31. 1 point
    Again, for using external technology...not for on field sign stealing/decoding.
  32. 1 point
    Yes it has the white F3 logo on it. It is brand new. If you pm me your number I can shoot you a pic. @wolfe_man
  33. 1 point
    I always have a pro hem my pants. I get mine a little shorter in the front, than the back. I have them hem up a lot of material as the extra weight on the plate pants tends to pull them down, and keep them from binding up and looking goofy. And yeah, wear your shin guards and plate shoes when getting fitted.
  34. 1 point
    Careful with this. The key is that there was an intervening play on R3 before the interference, not simply the fact that R3 had scored before the interference. For example, had R3 scored without a play at the plate and then the BR got called for RLI, R3 would be sent back to third.
  35. 1 point
    actually with the LUC pads it's 21oz
  36. 1 point
    That's why I used a in my post too! It's a very valid argument, don't get me wrong, ... he was a genius for sure, ..I just look at it in a more specific way that's all. For you sir: Red Barchetta from Exit...Stage Left Mystic Rhythms from the Counterparts Tour (Detroit stop) AND ...this tribute I just found .... A portion of Hemispheres II from the Hemispheres album
  37. 1 point
    NCAA does not require a pitcher in a 9 man lineup to be declared as P/DH. The difference in FED is that it is a PLAYER/DH, although most of the occurrences will probably be with a pitcher.
  38. 1 point
    They are affirming that they conform with OBR’s “continuous action after a batted ball”. B is the answer. What rule cite would be used I don’t know. It’s an OBR interp but I haven’t found an NCAA equivalent. But I like that this question would suffice as well as another in the test because their appeal rule, if taken literally, would not allow the run to count if appealed or an appeal to be made after a throw into dead ball territory during continuous action. I think@lawump would have an issue with making this test question suffice as an interp to continuous action. But that’s how NCAA does it.
  39. 1 point
    Here's my take: If this is so awful, as to require the removal of all the offenders and the manager, why is this rule optional for the local league in the regular season? This is only a made for TV rule, because some announcer called it cheating on an ESPN broadcast, and someone is a sportcoat in Williamsport lost their mind. No other reason, folks. Oh, I guess it's okay to steal and relay the bunt sign, right? BTW, the warning only pertains to this lame sign stealing rule (please make them stop, Mr. Coach). You can still dump a player for calling you blind without a warning. Idiots.
  40. 1 point
    A couple of years ago I exchanged emails with the folks from X-Tech. They are the new leaders in pro football shoulder pads. They make those ridiculously low profile pads that have become so popular. I asked if they had any intentions of developing protection for umpires and their answer was as soon as they finished establishing dominance in the NFL, umpire gear was next on their list. I will have to follow up. Here is an article from the NY Post. https://nypost.com/2017/11/25/these-shoulder-pads-could-help-the-future-of-football/
  41. 1 point
    Because it was done from off the field. If you aren't allowed to steal signs then why have signs? Just yell out the play and forbid the other team acting on what they heard.
  42. 1 point
    Yes, I know it sounds crazy, blatantly ignoring the rules you are paid to enforce makes you a poor official. And, also makes life more difficult for every other official who actually tries to do their job properly....because they always run across coaches who say "but the last umpire we had told me something different". But you keep following the MSU rule book if it makes you happy. Christ - you make a statement..and when told you are wrong you ask for proof via rule citation...then when shown the rule you say you're going to ignore it. wtf are you here if you're not interested in learning? You're not gonna get your ego massaged either.
  43. 1 point
    No, it is not. Intent doesn't matter on retired runner interference UNLESS they are simply continuing to run the bases normally...with the exception of completing their slide (NOT getting up after the slide) , and possibly returning to third believing they missed the base, a scored runner can not continue to run the bases normally. Getting up is not running the bases normally. Returning to the dugout is not running the bases normally. Once you understand that you understand that the retired/scored runner is offered no protection here, and thus intent has no bearing on the play. If they interfered with the defense's ability to make a play on another runner, that runner is out. If there was no play to be made, there's no interference. The only judgment is whether or not there was a play to interfere with. There is NO judgment on the scored runner's intent or lack thereof. Your call would be properly protested, and properly overturned.
  44. 1 point
    That's because you're refusing to accept that you are incorrect.
  45. 1 point
    I just wish they'd give them ear pieces. No different than the QBs and LBs in football. Stop messing around with signs from the 1850s.
  46. 1 point
    Sounds good, but I probably have the head coach after he talks about having a problem every game you do.
  47. 1 point
    Baseball's been around for over 150 years - it will still be around when you're ready to return. Nothing is more important than time with family.
  48. 1 point
  49. 1 point
    Great question... I use to do the hidden stitch. Now I go to my tailor for the straight stitch. Now here is the key.. you need to take your pants to Jo-Ann Fabric or your local store that stocks a sh!t ton of thread and match it up. Then take the thread to the tailor. Tailors have 2-3 shades of grey and they will try to match it up but sometimes its not 100%. On the new Smitty pants due to the stretch element of the pant I would go with a straight stitch but I would match the pant to the thread.... I AM THE MARTHA STEWART OF UMPIRING!
  50. 0 points
    Looking for a Team Wendy West Vest Gold Chest Protector...Mine was stolen and hope to replace..,call 708 446 7203. Will buy with or without the pads...
×
×
  • Create New...