Jump to content

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Today
  2. noumpere

    FED DH Rule Change

    I hate these rant on / rant off emojis.
  3. beerguy55

    FED DH Rule Change

    Well, now I'm confused. If the guy on base is going to pitch or catch the next inning, why wouldn't he be able to get a courtesy runner...if the courtesy runner rule is indeed meant to speed up the changeover between innings. IMO - there should never be a CR allowed for the pitcher...he doesn't need to change costume. Also, CR should only be allowed with two out. I also prefer the rule sets that have the CR be the further batter from the catcher...as opposed to using bench players. This rule has turned into a half-assed ploy to get more players into the game, to make players and parents feel better about things...it's supposed to be purely about speeding the game up. So many changes to this rule over the year have just made it a pile of donkey SH*#.
  4. Biscuit

    FED DH Rule Change

    As a catcher (who can get his gear on reasonably quickly, but also happens too be fairly slow on the bases), I agree. I don't hold up the game by being on the bases when the third out is recorded. Generally, the pitcher will have only thrown one, maybe two, warmups by the time I'm ready to take over for whoever goes out to warm them up. Sometimes, I'm ready before the pitcher! (But that's just because I play on a bad team that don't know the game). Though, strategically, I can't really fault my coaches on putting a CR in... I really do need to work on some speed.
  5. Exactly. You wouldn’t have allowed a CR for a DH before, so don’t do it now. Side rant ... Courtesy runners may be used by the offense, but they are NOT about the offense. They are about get the defense moving quicker at the top of the inning. (This rule seems to be counterproductive in that regard, but that isn’t what I am ranting about.)
  6. Matt

    FED DH Rule Change

    Looks like I chose the right year to stop doing HS ball.
  7. Stan W.

    Sad News

    My prayers for his family and friends and my hope that the "Chief Umpire" welcomed him safe at home...
  8. noumpere

    FED DH Rule Change

    My (non-official) guess is that this is exactly what was wanted. The CR is for a P or a C (i.e, a DEFENSIVE player). The person batting is the DH (i.e., an OFFENSIVE player). The fact that it's physically the same person doesn't alter the roles.
  9. Biscuit

    FED DH Rule Change

    I know you're no longer in the committee, but I'd assume you're still a little more hooked into the situation than the rest of us, so I've got to ask, do you think the posted interp is what NFHS wants? (I.e, no courtesy for F/DH?)
  10. Australian Baseball League HP Umpire Joshua Wechsler ejected Auckland SS Josh Morgan and Manager Steve Mintz (strike three call) in the bottom of the 6th inning of the Cavalry-Tuatara game. With one out and two on (R2, R3), Morgan took three consecutive pitches from Cavalry pitcher Steven Kent for... [[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]] View the full article
  11. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    Yup; I had to remind our state assistant commissioner for baseball about this during our state meeting. It caused a lot of "say what's" to be muttered by the umpires in attendance.
  12. Nashville area college group- Mid South, they have a Facebook page HS- TSSAA, https://cms-files.tssaa.org/documents/tssaa/BBAssociations.pdf Nashville group and Murfreesboro is a strong group too, maybe 30 mins east of Nashville.
  13. @AL-Ump your mods look really well done. I’m currently finishing my last semester of college... well, I’m technically currently procrastinating... but as soon as the semester is done I might be asking you some questions on how your methods. I’m currently using a douglas that is doing really well, but I want to finish my mods on a +POS Kobra. I’ve had it for sometime but I had to take all of my side projects down into the basement when the semester started... modifications make a great excuse to put off homework! hahaha Thanks for you input though!
  14. You’re leaving? Damn Tim, that sucks. I can give you some guys to hit up if you want @Tim ODay
  15. Richvee

    FED DH Rule Change

    After reading through everything and reading the pre season guide, I will make it a point that the courtesy runner issue is discussed at out state interpretation meeting. This has the possibility of being a $h*t show if all umpires aren’t on the same page on this. I would assume we’ll see the dual role be p/ DH more than any other position, and the CR issue is going to come up almost every game.
  16. Yesterday
  17. tpatience

    Sad News

    He was originally from D62 but was most recently the assistant UIC for D55 which is where I started. He was my first mentor and he really put me on the path that I am on now. He will be missed
  18. JonnyCat

    Sad News

    Just learned of the passing of fellow umpire and UE member John Dowdy today. John was a Little League umpire for many years in Southern California and was a LL World Series umpire in 2015. I believe he worked out of D62 in Orange County, CA.Went by johnpatrick here on UE. Terrific guy and a great volunteer. He taught at Western Region for years and touched many lives. I had the pleasure of attending pro school with him in 2015, just prior to his world series. RIP my friend. You will be missed but not forgotten.
  19. In today's Teachable, Tmac takes to Tripp's transit on a play at first base as 1B Umpire Gibson adjusts his position on a diving tag attempt in New York, a safe call affirmed via Replay Review. During a Nationals-Mets game, Nats batter Juan Soto hits a slowly bouncing ground ball up the... [[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]] View the full article
  20. Long time lurker, first time user! Love the site. Moving from Southern California to Nashville in January. Any contact info/help is appreciated. Junior College and HS umpire here in CA, looking to get involved in TN.
  21. Did the retired/scored runner interfere with a play on B/R. If B/R was never coming home anyway, there's nothing to interfere with. If he reached home as a result of the trip, then it's probably interference. And if he gets thrown out at home then you don't need to worry about explaining or arguing INT. Let the play finish, first, to give you the full context to what you're dealing with. If there's nothing to interfere with there's no interference. And though OBR gives some leeway to the retired runner continuing to run the bases, a scored runner can't continue to run the bases. With the exception of completing the natural motion of his slide, or possibly where he returns to third (mistakenly) thinking he missed that base, the bar should be set very low if he does impede the defense's ability to play on another runner. No, he can't disappear, but whether he just lays next to the plate for 20 seconds, or gets up to go to the dugout, the onus is on HIM to allow the defense to play. Baseball has all kinds of instances of OBS and INT where the fact that it was genuinely unintentional or accidental is irrelevant. When it is relevant, the rules say so. This is one of those cases where it's not relevant.
  22. Crew How To: Replacing Your Umpire Mask Harness View the full article
  23. Official 2-Minute Review: UMPLIFE UBag Organizer View the full article
  24. I believe this has been answered and I'm shutting it down before it goes off the rails ..... more than it's already heading
  25. Could you post a photo or two of the finished rig?
  26. Here’s something that jumped out at me... where’s the pitcher, backing up the throw to the plate? Multiple runners on with a multi-base hit, the pitcher should start heading towards the plate to back up the incoming throw, and position himself towards the backstop. Pros know to do this, college players know to do this, high-end high school age amateurs know to do this... that this pitcher wasn’t there indicates these players were amateur – little kid to youth. Then, when you say “scrimmage”, this ices it. Instructional, low-end high school at best. So, that establishes context. Granted, without being there to see it happen, but do you really think R1 intentionally – went out of his way, made a distinct effort to – interfered with the catcher so as to trip him? Let’s extrapolate this further... what if the throw had gotten lodged in the backstop, or kicked into the dugout or some other DBT? Can’t exactly call interference – and an out – on a ball that’s unplayable and dead, can we? Thus, as it is many times, comes down to judgement. At that context, don’t fall into the trappings and rigidity of rulings devoid of judgements and interpretations. Take it for what it is – a play and call during a scrimmage – and a learning opportunity for all involved.
  1. Load more activity
×
×
  • Create New...