Jump to content

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Today
  2. There have been at least two other threads about this issue of more than one ball on the field—one in 2015 and the other in 2018. Perhaps the most famous (probably because it involved two future HOFers) extra ball on the field incident took place on June 30, 1959, at Wrigley Field. Stan Musial took a ball four pitch that got away from the catcher and went all the way to the backstop of Wrigley. Seeing the ball got away Musial started running to first base. The pitcher and the catcher immediately started to argue with the HP umpire Vic Delmore that the reason the ball got away was that the pitch hit Musial's check swing. During the course of the argument Delmore handed a second ball to the catcher. The catcher sees that Musial is on his way to second and overthrows second base with the second ball going into center field. Musial saw the overthrow and started for third base. While all this was happening the third baseman ran in and picked up the first live ball and threw it to the shortstop Ernie Banks who applied a tag on Musial and he was called out. That out was upheld by the umpires after lengthy discussion. Umpire Delmore was let go after the season ended.
  3. In an MLB game played on August 5, 2014, between the Reds and Indians, there was a play involving an extra ball on the field—the umpires kept the ball live: With none out and two on (R1, R3), B1 hit a double to F9, who threw to F4 to F6 as a ball from the defensive bullpen flew onto the field near F4. F6 threw to F5 as R1 dove back to third and was tagged out. OBR Rule 5.01(b) states that after the umpire calls "Play" and until the umpire calls "Time," or until for legal cause (e.g., hit batsman, umpire or offensive interference, foul ball, etc.), the ball is alive. Rule 5.12 lists several additional opportunities to call "Time," including weather/darkness, light failure, an accident, mound visit, examination of baseball, fielder falls out of play, and the umpire orders a person removed. Rule 5.12(b)(8) states, "Except in the cases stated in paragraphs (2) and (3)(A) of this rule, no umpire shall call 'Time' while a play is in progress." According to these rules, the umpire should not kill the ball simply because an extra ball flies onto the field. The circumstance of an extra ball on the field is not listed as an opportunity to stop play.
  4. I have also noticed that the seat has a traditional seam which makes me a bit nervous for that day that they may split.
  5. It’s not dented ...it was designed to look like it has attitude!
  6. It isn’t like pinball where you get to play the bonus ball, too? While those situations cover a second ball in play, I don’t think they accurately cover the play presented by the OP. In the presented play, we obviously have a correctable umpire error that led to the situation. I’m with Biscuit ... the runner likely would have obtained second base. The umpire’s error led to the play at third ... strike the play at third and put the runner back on second. I might even be OK with leaving the runner safe on third base. Since the catcher made no effort to go get the ball, you could reasonably expect the runner would have reached third base safely. Tough to say without seeing it though.
  7. job opening at hawk-eye https://www.glassdoor.com/job-listing/sports-systems-operator-baseball-hawk-eye-innovations-JV_IC1155583_KO0,32_KE33,53.htm?jl=3238640584
  8. johnnyg08

    Rule Set?

    Maybe they don't know. Simply include the rule set in the reply. Threads tend to go that way anyway.
  9. Two MLB executives appear to have made conflicting calls—and they're not even umpires. Just weeks after Chief Baseball Officer Joe Torre soured on the robot strike zone concept, Commissioner Rob Manfred told ESPN he is ready and "very comfortable" with the technology, pointing to the Atlantic... [[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]] View the full article
  10. Think about the amount of force needed to make that thing collapse like that! Did anyone check to see if the original owner is still alive and NOT eating out of a straw?
  11. Umm is someone gonna tell the seller? Nike Pro Issue Titanium Baseball Catchers/Umpire Mask. It is in perfect condition with little to no signs of use.
  12. latest usa today article on track man https://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/mlb/2019/08/19/baseball-robo-umpires-atlantic-league-mlb-trackman/2038459001/
  13. Yesterday
  14. Since the OP does not specify the rule set his scenario was played under, I can say that Mr. maven is wrong for at least two rule sets. The NCAA code actually has a rule that covers the extra ball on the field situation and FED now has a case play that addresses this question: 2019-2020 NCAA Rule 6 Dead Ball—Play Suspended SECTION 5. Time shall be called by the umpire and play is suspended when: c. An unusual circumstance interferes with the normal progress of the game, such as any crowd action, animal, ball, or other object on the field (see 6-4-a PENALTY); 6-4a PENALTY—The ball is dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as to nullify the act of interference; 2018 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 5: With one out and a runner on third base, the defense is warming up a pitcher in its bullpen, which is located inside the fence in live-ball territory along the left-field fence. A ball from the bullpen gets past the bullpen catcher and goes to the fence to the left of the catcher. Meanwhile, the pitcher throws a wild pitch that gets past the catcher and goes to the fence to the right of the catcher. The catcher retreats to the fence, picks up the bullpen ball and throws it to the pitcher covering the plate for an apparent out on the runner advancing home. RULING: The runner is safe. Only the game ball can be used to record an out. (1-3-1)
  15. maven

    What's the call

    Better training and awareness? Oh wait: you're probably asking about the game situation, not umpires who screw up. Seriously: there's no rule that covers umpiring screwups. People post these things and then waste a lot of time declaiming about how they'd handle it. Yawn. Make everyone a little unhappy, apologize all around, and get the ball back in play as quickly as possible.
  16. LRZ

    Umpire Walk

    Every 130 years....
  17. I understand that a committee is working on that. Ron Gardenhire and Clint Hurdle are on the committee, chaired by Aaron Boone.
  18. LRZ

    Rule Set?

    I don't see that as an issue or problem. If someone wants to know about a situation under other rule sets, they can always scan the forum for related threads. Going by who posts where, I would guess that most regulars look everywhere for topics of interest. Anyway, I've had my say, and have nothing further to offer. It was just a suggestion.
  19. Biscuit

    Rule Set?

    Well, what you don't want to happen is someone gets the call right... In the wrong ruleset. I could get behind a new thread, the only problem is what if someone only reads one of the threads?
  20. Biscuit

    What's the call

    The ball handed to the catcher cannot be used to record an out, as it was never put in play. I'm also not giving the runner third most likely. My intuition says that I'd give the runner second, and kill the play, but I'd be hard pressed to give a reason other than "that's what would've happened if I didn't screw up". I'm interested in seeing the rule cites that will come along.
  21. LRZ

    Rule Set?

    Further down a thread, it is often difficult to know what rule set a particular post is referring to, especially when many posters do not cite rules. In a thread about a NFHS rule, for example, why benefit is gained by citing OBR and NCAA, even to illustrate differences? Start anther, parallel thread, instead of creating tangents (hijacks?). But maybe I'm too old to feel fully comfortable with internet dialogue.
  22. DougMH

    What's the call

    Runner at 1st, nobody out. The pitcher throws a wild pitch. The home plate umpire forgets about the runner at first. The catcher reaches back for another ball and the home plate umpire gives it to him. The runner at 1st has gone to second and when he sees the original pitch laying near the backstop heads for third. The catcher throws the new ball to 3rd and the runner is tagged out. How is this resolved? I remember Look Magazine used to have a feature called "You Be The Ump" and this was one of the situations that was brought up. But it was years ago and I cannot remember the correct call.
  23. It's actually Rule 8-2-7 dealing with the batter-runner: The batter-runner shall be called out when: ART. 7 . . . The batter-runner interferes with a fielder attempting to make an initial play, interferes with a fielder attempting to throw the ball, intentionally interferes with a thrown ball while out of the batter's box, makes contact with a fair batted ball before reaching first base, or (F.P.) interferes with a dropped third strike. If this interference, in the umpire's judgment, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play, the runner closest to home plate shall be called out. A batter runner being hit with a thrown ball does not necessarily constitute interference. Rule 2-30 Infield Fly: "Infield fly rule is, when declared by the umpire, a fair fly..." When the ball is airborne, it's neither fair nor foul. Rule 5-1-1 The ball becomes dead immediately when: e. there is interference by a runner or a retired runner Rule 7-4-12 In this play, the ONLY way they could get two outs would be if the interference by the BR prevented a possible double play, which it didn't.
  24. I believe the technical term for your response is the YGBFKM stare.
  25. On this board and on another, I have tried to post when I am offering an alternate rule set. It is very helpful to have discussions across rule sets, but we do need to be careful to point out when we are doing that. Simply posting “an answer” is not necessarily sufficient if it is the right answer but in the wrong code. I like yawetag’s idea of tagging rule sets and nominate him to implement that ... See what happens when you leave a meeting for a few minutes!
  26. I’m not going to show it to you coach, but I’m going to give you the rest of the game off too, just so you can find it.
  1. Load more activity
×
×
  • Create New...