Jump to content

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Past hour
  2. I just want to clarify that the bad info that Mr. stkjock posted was a post of mine from an old thread and that I did not use it to answer the question in this thread—he did. Considering the time of the year this game took place I would have to say that Little League tournament rules and guidelines would apply—not regular season pitching rules. Here are the applicable rules-- e. Pitchers league age 14 and under must adhere to the following rest requirements: • If a player pitches 66 or more pitches in a day, four (4) calendar days of rest must be observed. • If a player pitches 51-65 pitches in a day, three (3) calendar days of rest must be observed. • If a player pitches 36-50 pitches in a day, two (2) calendar days of rest must be observed. EXCEPTION: If a pitcher reaches a day(s) of rest threshold while facing a batter, the pitcher may continue to pitch until any one of the following conditions occurs: (1) That batter reaches base; (2) That batter is retired; (3) The third out is made to complete the half-inning or the game. The pitcher will only be required to observe the calendar day(s) of rest for the threshold he/she reached during that at-bat, provided that pitcher is removed or the game is completed before delivering a pitch to another batter.
  3. I know it is legal for a pitcher to throw to the SS or second baseman on a pickoff attempt even if they are not covering second base as long as the pitcher steps directly toward second. Jim Evans goes over this in his balk video. Where does it say this in the rules or the commentary? I want to have it handy when our pitcher does that so that it is not called a balk by an umpire who does not know the balk rules.
  4. Always. Wear. A. Cup. Always.
  5. stkjock

    Pitching Change

    ok I sit corrected. sorry for the bad into, trying to do too many things at once. going to delete above reply.
  6. Not true, and wasn't true in OBR or NCAA before the "returning pitcher crossing the foul line" rule change. Not true in FED.
  7. I wanna know from some of the more experienced guys, what do you say to the coach you're "helping off the field"?
  8. Not in LL. Any pitcher who has faced one batter has complied with the rule. Throwing warmups in later innings does not require them to face another batter. In the OP the manager could replace his pitcher. Perhaps @HenryS could tell us how the argument protest was resolved. The game should have been held up until the protesting manager was given a valid ruling from District/Region/WP.
  9. Well... it is home to more than a few D1 umpires... The home to a few very good camps... Home to SEVERAL colleges of all levels... Not a terrible drive to many other schools... Has an airport... I'm sure @MidAmUmp can shed more light on it for you.
  10. After living here for about a year in my second stint in Texas, I became a cowboy this weekend! And on my birthday, no less! Did a pair on Saturday, as part of the "Five Tools" tournament in our area. (And insert your own joke about 'five tools' here.) I was base guy for the first one, and the head coach for one team had something to say about a called-third by my partner from the 3B box. Then he called time for an "offensive conference" - which was really just an excuse to give him more crap. I mean, he wasn't even pretending to talk to the player, and got all point-y. So not long after, my partner says "Get off my field!" Problem is, I spent a blank moment or two, thinking how much I dislike that phrase before realizing "Oh SH*#! I gotta go DO something now!" and head down to the dirt circle, where they're still 'chatting.' I had to kind-of step over their legs to get in-between them, so my partner can peel off. That gets me thisclose to the coach at that point, which was awkward - the first thing he said was something like "Give us some space!" But then he says "What're YOU doing here, cowboy?" [I MADE IT, Ma!] "I'm here to rodeo, coach." <-- I said that more than once - I said it before he mentioned cowboy, when we were talking over each other, but then I said it again. He got irritated (more, anyway), and said something like "you don't use that terminology!" after saying something else I never really heard. I told my wife the story that night, and we were both a little confused about that, but I have theory today: I almost think, that with my distinctly East Coast voice, and my use of rodeo - thankfully, I didn't use the phrase "rodeo clown", like WE all use - may have made him think I was mocking him, as he was VERY Texas. But he left, and I didn't have to walk him all the way to the dugout. I'm not even sure how righteous the EJ was, or if it was early or late, or what. I just know that I got called 'cowboy.' Happy Birthday to me, indeed.
  11. That's not the OP. The OP has THE SAME pitcher coming back out; your play has A NEW pitcher (well F6) coming out
  12. Not looking at the Green Book, but I was always taught, if he throws a warmup, he must face at least one batter. Now, if the pitcher was ineligible and throws a warmup pitch, we fix the problem and play on if it's caught before pitching to a batter.
  13. Knocking on wood won't help - you're screwed.
  14. Since Frank Viola's notable ejection arguing TrackMan's Automated Ball/Strike System in Game 1 of the electronic strike zone experiment, umpires have ejected other Atlantic League managers over balls/strikes concerns. According to the ALPB / MLB joint press release July 11, 2019, the 2019 Atlantic... [[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]] View the full article
  15. I'll admit that I'm not an NCAA umpire and never will be, but.......... On your landing page you have an umpire with backwards heel-toe stance, and an umpire woefully out of position on a play at the plate. Welcome to U-E!
  16. Whoops ... didn’t realize this was the automated strike zone thread.
  17. Today
  18. I have used the process ... and by that I mean everybody just knows what I think and should just go ahead and do that since that is what was intended.
  19. stkjock

    Pitching Change

    delete - bad info
  20. stkjock

    Pitching Change

    I'm fairly sure there's reference in the LL rule book on this. Once he throws a warm up he must face a batter IIRC. Let me see if I can find the reference.
  21. And here I thought I was the baseball square.
  22. I am assuming that LL does NOT have the OBR restriction that "a pitcher who crosses the foul line must face a batter" restriction. In that case, the first pitcher met this requirement last inning. It doesn't carry over inning to inning. Since this pitcher is new, he must face a batter (absent injury, etc -- I assume). If LL HAS the OBR restriction, then, yes, he must face a batter, but this is not relevant.
  23. It's close enough but not exact.
  24. Given what I assume were the measuring limitations when the rule was established (I think in the 1800s, but I'm too lazy to try to look it up), I think 127' 3 3/8" is close enough to the hypotenuse of a right triangle with 90' sides. Unless you are referring to the fact that the bags marking first and third base are no entirely within the infield, while the bag at second base is centered on the base point.
  25. Based on the pitching restrictions that you are referring to, I'm assuming you are talking little league. without the chart handy, I'm not sure what level reflects 50 pitches= Monday, based on when this happened. None the less, I'm pretty sure the "must face a batter" comment was meant to be until that at bat is complete by out , ending an inning or reaching base, was covered by the first batter he faces......not each inning. With intermediate and above, where the "must face a batter" comes into question at times is when a player is removed from the mound, and used at another position and then returning to the game (without ever having been removed from the game). If recalled to the mound, they "must face a batter" (again) before being substituted for on the mound. I'm at work without my LGR, but I'm sure some will provide rule cites...... UPDATE - I found it in the RIM. It indicates that they must pitch to the first batter.............it does NOT say "each inning". 3.05 - (a) The pitcher named in the batting order handed to the umpire-in-chief, as provided in Rules 4.01 (a) and 4.01 (b) shall pitch to the first batter or any substitute batter until such batter or any substitute batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the pitcher sustains injury or illness, which in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates the pitcher from further play as pitcher. (b) If the pitcher is replaced, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute batter, until such batter is put out or reaches first base, or until the offensive team is put out, unless the substitute pitcher sustains injury or illness, which in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates the pitcher from further play as a pitcher.
  1. Load more activity


×
×
  • Create New...