Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Guest Wannabe

Run Down Obstruction

Question

Guest Wannabe

In a run-down situation, the runner is stranded between 3rd and Home. Runner breaks for 3rd base but is interfered with by a defensive player. Is the runner awarded 3rd base (because that was his intended destination) or home plate because he is awarded 1 base and has already crossed 3rd?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
10 minutes ago, stkjock said:

runner would be protected to the base that the umpire judged he/she would have made without the obstruction.  as described likely 3rd base

Incorrect.

Since a play is being made on the runner, it's type A, and the runner is awarded (at least) one base from the base last legally touched -- more, if the umpire judges he would have reached more.

 

In FED, the runner is awarded (at least) one base, regardles of whether a play is being made on the runner.

 

Here's the OBR rule (comments removed)

 

(h) Obstruction
When obstruction occurs, the umpire shall call or signal
“Obstruction.”
(1) If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the
batter-runner is obstructed before he touches first base,
the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability
to be put out, to the bases they would have reached,
in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction.
The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one
base beyond the base he had last legally touched before
the obstruction. Any preceding runners, forced to
advance by the award of bases as the penalty for obstruction,
shall advance without liability to be put out.

(2) If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play
shall proceed until no further action is possible. The
umpire shall then call “Time” and impose such penalties,
if any, as in his judgment will nullify the act of obstruction.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 1
8 minutes ago, stkjock said:

runner would be protected to the base that the umpire judged he/she would have made without the obstruction.  as described likely 3rd base

I disagree.  OBR, this would be Type A,obstruction.  The award is the base beyond the last legally obtained.  Runner would be awarded home.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -1

runner would be protected to the base that the umpire judged he/she would have made without the obstruction.  as described likely home

Edited by stkjock
corrected base award

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...