Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Gfoley4

Pickoff ruled out after review

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

From the 2016 BRD (section 459, p. 304):

OBR Official Interpretation:  Wendelstedt:  A forceful tag should not be grounds for protecting a runner from being tagged while off his base.

Play:  R1, 1 out, 3-2 count. The batter singles to right. R1 attempts to go to third. As he slides headfirst over the top of the bag, he is able to hold the bag with the toes of his left foot. The third baseman applies a hard tag on R1’s foot, knocking it off the bag. Ruling:  At all levels, R1 is out.

Play:  BR rounds first too far and then hustles back, standing. As he reaches the base, he loses balance. The first baseman’s hard swipe tag pushes the runner’s leg from the bag. Ruling:  BR is out.

But there is this to consider also. From the 2016 BRD (section 458, p. 303):

Official Interpretation:  Wendelstedt:  If a runner is knocked or pushed off base by a fielder and would not have lost contact on his own momentum, the umpire following conclusion of play will call time and award the runner the base he had already reached safely.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
35 minutes ago, Senor Azul said:

From the 2016 BRD (section 459, p. 304):

OBR Official Interpretation:  Wendelstedt:  A forceful tag should not be grounds for protecting a runner from being tagged while off his base.

Play:  R1, 1 out, 3-2 count. The batter singles to right. R1 attempts to go to third. As he slides headfirst over the top of the bag, he is able to hold the bag with the toes of his left foot. The third baseman applies a hard tag on R1’s foot, knocking it off the bag. Ruling:  At all levels, R1 is out.

Play:  BR rounds first too far and then hustles back, standing. As he reaches the base, he loses balance. The first baseman’s hard swipe tag pushes the runner’s leg from the bag. Ruling:  BR is out.

But there is this to consider also. From the 2016 BRD (section 458, p. 303):

Official Interpretation:  Wendelstedt:  If a runner is knocked or pushed off base by a fielder and would not have lost contact on his own momentum, the umpire following conclusion of play will call time and award the runner the base he had already reached safely.

So was that a review of the rule/interp or a review of the hand being off while the tag was still applied. It seems U1 saw the hand off and still judged safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...