Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Rich

Error Charged

Question

Guest Rich

Does 2B get charged an error for deflecting the ball and SS picks up deflection and makes throw to plate for 3rd out. No runners advanced on play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
12 minutes ago, Guest Rich said:

Does 2B get charged an error for deflecting the ball and SS picks up deflection and makes throw to plate for 3rd out. No runners advanced on play.

If no runners advanced how did they get an out?

Not an error as an out was achieved. In fact in your play 2B gets an assist.

(a) The Official Scorer shall credit an assist to each fielder who
(1) throws or deflects a batted or thrown ball in such a way
that a putout results, 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

To our guest Rich, the answer already given is probably correct. But there are a couple of possible variables that you could clear up for us.

Please tell us more about the deflection from the second baseman. Was it the result of his misplay of the batted ball that could have been fielded with ordinary skill and effort? Or did the deflection meet the definition provided in rule 9.10(a)(1) Comment?

Mere ineffective contact with the ball shall not be considered an assist. “Deflect” shall mean to slow down or change the direction of the ball and thereby effectively assist in putting out a batter or runner.

And where exactly were the runner(s) in your play? Was the runner who was subsequently put out forced?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 6/8/2019 at 9:43 AM, Guest Rich said:

Does 2B get charged an error for deflecting the ball and SS picks up deflection and makes throw to plate for 3rd out. No runners advanced on play.

It depends.   Was it truly a deflection, or did he misplay the ball?

Say there were no runners - if this play occurred with no runners, and it happened as you saw it, and the batter reached first safely, would you charge F4 with an error?

We need to know if the runner thrown out at home started at second base or third base.

We may need to know if bases were loaded, making the play at home a force.

Assuming a deflection it's probably just a 4-6-2 fielder's choice.

Assuming a misplay:

If the runner started the play at second, then I would likely rule E4 (batter reaches on error, R2 reaches third on FC) - then a 6-2 put out at home, on R2 attempting to advance on the error.

If the runner started at third then it's possibly scored 4-6-2, and batter reaches on fielder's choice.   I could also argue the batter reached on F4's error, and on the error the runner decided to try to advance, resulting in a 6-2 put out.   If R3 was going on contact and still managed to get thrown out at home after the muff/deflection, then it's may be just a 4-6-2 fielder's choice.   If the play at home is a force, then F4 can not be charged with an error...he may or may not get the assist.

The judgment comes in whether or not the runner attempted to go home as a result of F4's misplay, or if he was going anyway.

a) The official scorer shall charge an error against any fielder:

(1) whose misplay (fumble, muff or wild throw) prolongs the time at bat of a batter, prolongs the presence on the bases of a runner or permits a runner to advance one or more bases

(d) The official scorer shall not charge an error against:

(4) any fielder when, after a ground ball or dropping a batted ball that is in flight or a thrown ball, the fielder recovers the ball in time to force out a runner at any base

 

 

You need to remember that the batter DID advance, even with three out, and you have to account for why he reached first base successfully.  It's just a matter of whether he reached first on error, or fielder's choice (in either case he's 0/1)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...