Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Guest gunrunner

Abusive/Screaming Coach

Question

Guest gunrunner

Hello quick question for the guys/gals on here...I had an incident where 2 of the coaches were screaming/berating players (this was an girls 8u softball game...) after an inning while in the dugout....A few parents came up after the game and asked "wasn't there something i could do"....First off i have never seen this in any games i have umpired (boys/girls tball-18u), 2nd Parents should be stepping in and confronting coaches or pulling girls off team when subjected to that imo,..putting aside the human decency to call them out on their behavior as just a fan of the game...as the umpire should i have   confronted/warned them on it for "unsportsmanlike conduct",  these same coaches have a history of antics unbecoming to the sport and know i don't put up with their usual behavior on the field that some other umpires are to intimated to call them on...as a girls coach myself i find this deplorable but I need some insight/help for when i am wearing the "blue" on this one thanks in advance.

11 answers to this question

Yes you should have.  "Skip, I expect you to behave in a sportsmanlike manner".  

Years ago I ejected a manager for giving a kid a little shove in the dugout after a base running gaff.  If course, it was his kid.  To this day he tells me it was the best thing that ever happened.  He never realized how hard he was on his own kid.  It improved their relationship.

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
49 minutes ago, Guest gunrunner said:

A few parents came up after the game and asked "wasn't there something i could do"

I have a problem with this.