Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
layers73

Is this a Catch?

Question

This is the same game as my previous post on the Squeeze bunt where the batter was called out of box.

for this one im curious if you would consider this a completed catch?

 this is a game highlight video so fast forward to 1:22 - batter hits a soft sinking fly to shallow CF - did the CF complete that catch?   what would you call that?

Play in Question begins at 1:22

 

Also just in case you didn't see the other tread  - the controversial call on the Squeeze is at 1:58 (normal speed) and  2:25 (slow motion)  

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

20 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

The catch is close: but I agree with the call on the field (which was made too quickly and then had to be sold, IMO).

We're looking for 2 things: secure possession and voluntary release. I'm OK ruling secure possession here: the ball is gloved just above the ground, and the fielder brings it up in his glove to his throwing hand before it pops out.

Voluntary release is more controversial, and some might judge that this release was not voluntary. But the key for me is that the ball pops out toward his throwing hand, sideways. An involuntary release would come out in the direction the glove is moving, in this case, upward.

So I'd say 'catch' is supportable based on the video.

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
1 hour ago, maven said:

The catch is close: but I agree with the call on the field (which was made too quickly and then had to be sold, IMO).

RE: Too quickly.

I definitely agree. BU's hand was raised before the ball even came out. This is a textbook situation where you can't make any judgment on catch/no catch until that ball's out of the glove.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Rich Ives said:

Who chose those jerseys?

The left handed catcher.

This is the caliber of umpire NJ puts on its state semifinal games. 

Here is another interesting call that took place yesterday in the Garden State. Nothing like being in position to make a call and purposefully moving to a spot where it is nearly impossible to see tag and base at the same time.

  • Confused 1
  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Here are some guidelines from JEA (I did not copy the entire appendix on this):

If an outfielder gets possession of a fly ball and attempts to "flip it" to his throwing hand
immediately, he had better catch that ball or I'm ruling "no catch." Though he will argue that the flip was
an intentional release, he has not given himself the benefit of the doubt and will not get the call from me.
If this same play happens for the third out and he flips the ball on his trek en route from the field and
fails to catch it, this will be ruled a catch.
Anytime a player makes a diving attempt...a shoestring effort...or has to run at an accelerated pace to
get to a fly ball, you should make sure the fielder gets full control of his body before you make your
decision. Once he gets control, the other guidelines apply.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, Kevin_K said:

The left handed catcher.

 

I had left handed catchers in LL.. I've see college softball teams with left handed catchers.   The RH BS is way overrated.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, noumpere said:

Here are some guidelines from JEA (I did not copy the entire appendix on this):

If an outfielder gets possession of a fly ball and attempts to "flip it" to his throwing hand
immediately, he had better catch that ball or I'm ruling "no catch." Though he will argue that the flip was
an intentional release, he has not given himself the benefit of the doubt and will not get the call from me.
If this same play happens for the third out and he flips the ball on his trek en route from the field and
fails to catch it, this will be ruled a catch.
Anytime a player makes a diving attempt...a shoestring effort...or has to run at an accelerated pace to
get to a fly ball, you should make sure the fielder gets full control of his body before you make your
decision. Once he gets control, the other guidelines apply.

Jim must not have played much. :)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
29 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

I had left handed catchers in LL.. I've see college softball teams with left handed catchers.   The RH BS is way overrated.

That's not a left handed catcher.  It's a unicorn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
36 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

Jim must not have played much. :)

 

Kind of contradicts himself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Rich Ives said:

I had left handed catchers in LL.. I've see college softball teams with left handed catchers.   The RH BS is way overrated.

No, it's not. It puts F2 at a disadvantage for steals. That's why you've seen it in softball, but not baseball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 6/4/2019 at 8:25 AM, noumpere said:

I have "no catch" -- but I agree with "it's close" and "too quickly."

I’m with noumpere.  I’ve got no catch.

It doesn’t look like a “flip” to me.  It looks like he is reaching for a ball that is moving out of his glove (this not secured) but he doesn’t realize it.  I want to see a ball grasped before I’m giving you the benefit of the transfer.  There was no grasp there.

 

On a tangent ... what the heck is it with this team?!

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
22 hours ago, Kevin_K said:

The left handed catcher.

This is the caliber of umpire NJ puts on its state semifinal games. 

Here is another interesting call that took place yesterday in the Garden State. Nothing like being in position to make a call and purposefully moving to a spot where it is nearly impossible to see tag and base at the same time.

That's...that's not the best mechanics I've ever seen. Why is he running so hard to get to...I don't know where? He's also calling it while moving at a pretty good clip. We can't tell if he got the call right or not, certainly, but the mechanics look weird.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 6/4/2019 at 2:59 PM, Rich Ives said:

Who chose those jerseys?

I don’t know, but I think I found Waldo on their team.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 6/4/2019 at 5:11 PM, Kevin_K said:

The left handed catcher.

This is the caliber of umpire NJ puts on its state semifinal games. 

Here is another interesting call that took place yesterday in the Garden State. Nothing like being in position to make a call and purposefully moving to a spot where it is nearly impossible to see tag and base at the same time.

The beat goes on. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 6/4/2019 at 11:32 PM, Matt said:

No, it's not. It puts F2 at a disadvantage for steals. That's why you've seen it in softball, but not baseball.

Actually, the disadvantage is more from reaching across one's body on swipe tags.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

No catch.  On a snowcone grab like this, anything that comes out following without 100% secure possession is going to be no catch. The ball was out before the hand reached the glove.  IMOP this was not a flip.  Poor timing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 6/4/2019 at 7:46 PM, Rich Ives said:

I had left handed catchers in LL.. I've see college softball teams with left handed catchers.   The RH BS is way overrated.

Yup - it's a little odd looking but I never had a problem with it.  They are at a bit of a disadvantage catching R2 stealing, but at an advantage picking off R1 at first.    Frankly, the bigger challenge is finding left handed catcher's gloves and chest pads..

I have a much bigger problem with seeing left-handed F4, F5 and F6 in any competitive setting.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...