Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest 12u Coach

What's the call?

Question

Guest 12u Coach

Runners 1st and 3rd with one out. Ball is hit to the pitcher. Pitcher throws ball to 1st base to get batter/runner out (we know, should have went to 2nd) anyway, 1st baseman catches ball in front of 1st, does not touch the base and immediately throws home to get the runner from 3rd who is trying to score. Runner is safe at home. Batter/runner believes he is out even though no umpire called him out and returns to the dugout. The ball has been returned to the pitcher and he has taken the mound now with a runner on 2nd and still one out. At this time, 3rd base coach calls time and is awarded time out by a field umpire. Coach of hitting team wants the runner back on 1st because no play was made on the batter/runner. Coach of fielding team wants batter/runner to be called out. What is the correct call? Please site specific rule or rules that apply. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 answers to this question

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
24 minutes ago, Guest 12u Coach said:

Please site specific rule or rules that apply. 

The specific rule is the one that says a runner who abandons is out.

If you want a rule number, you'll need to be more specific about which code the game was played under. They all have this rule, but the numbers (and a few details) vary.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Since the OP gave us a clue with his screen name including “12U,” I doubt that it was a game played under NCAA rules. So, let’s start with the high school rule (8-2-6d-2)--

2018 NFHS rule 8-2

ART. 6 . . . Appeal procedures and guidelines

d. May Not Return. A runner may not return to touch a missed base or one left too soon on a caught fly ball if:

2. he has left the field of play, or

2019 NFHS Case Book Play 8.2.2 Situation M:  With R2, B2 hits a grounder to left field. R2 touches third base but misses the plate in attempting to score. F7 having thrown home, F2 steps on the missed base to retire R2 and throws to F6 in an attempt to put out B2:  (a) before R2 attempts to return home; or (b) after R2 attempts to return to touch home plate. RULING:  (a) Upon proper defensive appeal, R2 would be ruled out. (b) Since R2 initiated action prior to the defense touching the plate, R2 must be tagged to record the out. R2 may legally return to touch home if he has not touched the steps of the dugout and if a subsequent runner has not yet scored.

2018 NFHS rule 8-4 ART. 2 . . . Any runner is out when he:

p. after at least touching first base, leaves the baseline, obviously abandoning his effort to touch the next base; or

NOTE: Any runner, after reaching first base, who leaves the baseline heading for the dugout or his defensive position believing that there is no further play, shall be declared out if the umpire judges the act of the runner to be considered abandoning his efforts to run the bases.

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

And here’s the pro rule that covers the scenario in the original post--

2019 OBR Rule 5.09(b)(1) and (2) Comment: Any runner after reaching first base who leaves the base path heading for his dugout or his position believing that there is no further play, may be declared out if the umpire judges the act of the runner to be considered abandoning his efforts to run the bases. Even though an out is called, the ball remains in play in regard to any other runner.

This rule also covers the following and similar plays: Less than two out, score tied last of ninth inning, runner on first, batter hits a ball out of park for winning run, the runner on first passes second and thinking the home run automatically wins the game, cuts across diamond toward his bench as batter-runner circles bases. In this case, the base runner would be called out “for abandoning his effort to touch the next base” and batter-runner permitted to continue around bases to make his home run valid. If there are two out, home run would not count. See Rule 5.09(d). This is not an appeal play.

PLAY—Runner believing he is called out on a tag at first or third base starts for the dugout and progresses a reasonable distance still indicating by his actions that he is out, shall be declared out for abandoning the bases.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Are we assuming that the BR touched/passed first base?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Just now, JSam21 said:

Are we assuming that the BR touched/passed first base?

It may not matter - I think there was a case play somewhere along the way saying that entering dead ball territory qualifies as abandonment, or "desertion", even if you haven't touched first yet.

If it's softball, there is an explicit rule there about a batter entering the bench before reaching first base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

From the 2017 Jaksa/Roder manual (chapter 6, pp. 50-51):

A runner who discontinues his advance or return to a base, progresses a reasonable distance from the base (usually toward his dugout or defensive position), and indicates no intent to reassert his status as a runner has abandoned his effort to run the bases. The cause of his actions (e.g., ignorance or apathy) is irrelevant. The ball remains in play.

By rule, a batter-runner cannot be out for abandoning before touching (or passing) first base. However, there may be instances wherein a batter-runner aborts an advance toward first base before touching (or passing) it. This is herein called desertion

Although improbable, desertion can also occur after an award (5.05b1 Comment) (e.g., after ball four the batter-runner goes directly to his dugout as a pinch-runner goes from the dugout to first base) or on a batted ball. If such batter-runner reaches his dugout he is out for desertion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...