Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Guest BigVic69

Obstruction Awarding of bases

Question

Guest BigVic69

The following rule in Little League says:
"7.06 Obstruction (b) 1: When the ball is not dead on obstruction and an obstructed runner advances beyond the base which, in the umpire’s
judgment, the runner would have been awarded because of being obstructed, the runner does so at his/ her own risk and may be tagged
out.  This is a judgment call. "

Scenario:

Runner rounds 2nd base and is obstructed by SS.  The runner makes it to 3rd base and decides to try for home.  He is put out.  The umpire puts him on 3rd due to the obstruction.

The question Is that the laying aside of the out would cause a protestable event?

As it may/may not be a misapplication of 7.06 "the runner does so at his/her own risk and may be tagged out".

However, my point is that the end of the sentence says "This is a judgement call" which lends me to believe that the umpire should have awarded him home instead of placing him on 3rd, if that was the base he would have reached if not obstructed by the SS.

I say that he should have been awarded 1 base past the last base attained, in this case 3rd, and that he put all his chickens in the same basket which reaching for home.

Thanks,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Guest BigVic69
2 minutes ago, Guest BigVic69 said:

I meant to say that due to the obstruction, after attaining 2nd on his way to 3rd, he was guaranteed 3rd.

I say that he should have been awarded 1 base past the last base attained, in this case 3rd, and that he put all his chickens in the same basket which reaching for home.

Thanks,

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

It's the umpires' job to fix it as though the obstruction never happened.  When the runner tries for home he either protects him to home or calls him safe/out on the play.  Sending him back to 3B is not an option and would be a protestable misapplication of the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

How far he is protected is up to the umpire.

So, F6 bumps into runner while he is on his way to third.  Runner rounds third and tries to score and (a) is out on a bang-hang play at the plate or (b) is out by 15-20 feet.

In (a) it's likely the Runner would have scored if not obstructed - safe.

In (b) it's likely the Runner would have been out if not obstructed - out.

In no case can the runner put out at the plate be sent back to third, he is either Safe or Out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The base to which the runner should advance is a judgment call.

Whether or not the runner was tagged out is a judgment call.

The obstruction itself is a judgment call.

The last sentence of the rule is redundant and unnecessary.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest NJ Coach

Is the runner due the real-time knowledege of an obstruction call If not,  he may not try to advance as far as he might have and then the defense benefits.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, Guest NJ Coach said:

Is the runner due the real-time knowledege of an obstruction call If not,  he may not try to advance as far as he might have and then the defense benefits.

If it's a kind of OBS where the ball remains live, then runners may advance. If they advance beyond the base they would have been awarded, then they do so at their own risk. If retired, the out will count.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
16 hours ago, Guest NJ Coach said:

Is the runner due the real-time knowledege of an obstruction call If not,  he may not try to advance as far as he might have and then the defense benefits.

The umpire should call OBS when it happens.  I don't really follow the rest of your logic (probably my fault).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
17 hours ago, Guest NJ Coach said:

Is the runner due the real-time knowledege of an obstruction call If not,  he may not try to advance as far as he might have and then the defense benefits.

If you mean should the runner know what base they will be protected to because of the OBS... That can't be determined immediately by the umpires. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
21 hours ago, Guest NJ Coach said:

Is the runner due the real-time knowledege of an obstruction call If not,  he may not try to advance as far as he might have and then the defense benefits.

 

4 hours ago, JSam21 said:

If you mean should the runner know what base they will be protected to because of the OBS... That can't be determined immediately by the umpires. 

In short, the runner should behave as he would if there were no obstruction - if he's going to assume anything, assume the next base and nothing more - trust the ump to take care of the rest.  I've heard coaches tell their players to just keeping going when they see an obstruction call, that they can't be called out, and I just shake my head.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...