Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest BigVic

Minor League Stealing a base

Question

Guest BigVic

The runner on 1st does not pass 1/2 way point, before the pitcher has the ball and is ready to deliver next pitch (catcher is also ready to receive the pitch).

Is the runner allowed to continue to 2nd base, because he was in "motion".

Any declared LL rule for this type of situation?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

The runner, if off the base when F1 takes the rubber, needs to either return to his prior occupied base or immediately attempt to reach the next base. The defensive team can attempt to retire the runner, or allow the defensive indifference.

Basically they cannot just hang out in the base path and not do anything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
1 hour ago, Mudisfun said:

The runner, if off the base when F1 takes the rubber, needs to either return to his prior occupied base or immediately attempt to reach the next base. The defensive team can attempt to retire the runner, or allow the defensive indifference.

Basically they cannot just hang out in the base path and not do anything.

Ain't no look back rule in LL baseball.  New LL managers think the rubber is a stop button and tell their pitchers to get on the rubber and make the runner retreat. Sorry Charlie. There's  a play in progress - can't do that. If the pitcher ignores the runner the runner should just keep going. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Didn’t say there was a look back. Runner can go, or runner can go back. He cannot just stay off the bag forever. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Mudisfun said:

Didn’t say there was a look back. Runner can go, or runner can go back. He cannot just stay off the bag forever. 

You said immediately advance or go back. That's the look back rule. 

And there's a play in progress - play it.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

So if the pitcher ignores, and pitches to the batter with the runner still standing/dancing/whatever, then he's just "left early" right?  This isn't LL softball...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Rick - at some point in time, the runner, with F1 on the rubbers either needs to attempt to advance, or return to the base. So pick the timing, but at some point, we need to continue to play the game, and this, as described is not playing the game.

Time.

You back to 1st.

Play.

Problem solved.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...