Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
johnnyg08

Interference - Initial Throw Retires

Recommended Posts

R1 and R3. 0 outs. Count is 0-2 on the batter. Batter swings at the next pitch and falls over the plate. Interference is called. The initial throw retires the runner stealing to 2nd base. R3, comes home safely.

Then, for the sake of argument, is it the same result if the catcher threw the ball into center field?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Result if initial throw retires a runner: ignore the INT, 1 run scores, no runners, 2 outs, next batter due up.

Result if initial throw fails to retire a runner: enforce the INT, no runs score, R3, 2 outs, next batter due up.

Edited:

Sorry: did not see which forum I was posting in. Carry on!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2019-20 NCAA rule 6

Delayed Dead Ball—Runners Return or Advance

SECTION 3. The ball becomes dead and base runners return when:

b. The batter interferes with the catcher’s attempt to throw out a runner who is attempting to advance.

PENALTIES for b.—(1) The batter is out (see 7-11-f [with exceptions]);

(2) If the batter strikes out, the runner is also out; and

(3) If the catcher makes a play and the runner attempting to advance is put out and the batter does not strike out, the batter is not out and the interference is disregarded. The ball remains live and other runners may advance. If there is an attempt by the catcher to throw and the attempt is aborted due to any illegal action by the offense, the ball becomes dead immediately, the batter is out and all runners return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...