Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
goody14

Runner leaves early - ball thrown out of play

This is my first year working Babe Ruth/Cal Ripken with the special 60ft running rules.

I understand that when the bases are loaded if a runner leaves early no run can score when the ball stays in the infield (if the batter reaches, we remove the runner on 3rd with no out and no run). But, what is the shortstop throws the ball out of play.

If I were on a field, I would rationalize that the error means the batter gets more than one base - so the runners would as well (basically they can go as far as the batter much like a ball hit to the OF). I would put batter on second, R1 to 3rd and score two runs. Is this right?

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

The rule you are looking for can be found on page 13 (in the front matter) of the 2018 Babe Ruth/Cal Ripken rule book:

b. When any base runner leaves the base before the pitched ball has reached home plate and the batter bunts or hits a ball within the infield, no run shall be allowed to score. If three runners were on the bases and the batter reaches first base safely, each runner shall advance to the base beyond the one they occupied at the start of the play except the runner who occupied third base, which runner shall be removed from the base without a run being scored. NOTE: See exception following the rules.