Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Guest Chug

USSSA Fastpitch Softba;;

Question

Guest Chug

Must it be the pitcher on the mound to enforce the lookback rule? I had both of these plays happen to me in the same game.

1. Runners on first and second. Wild pitch goes to backstop then rolls toward third base.

Runners advance to next base as pitcher covers home- F3 goes to mound, catcher runs for the ball. 

Runner on third is juking back and forth, meanwhile, cathcer throws ball to F3 on the mound.

Runner still off base juking toward home and third. While F3 holds the ball. 

Is this an out?

 

2. Runners on 2nd and third. The next pitch is a passed ball.

R2 scores easily, R1 rounds third aggressively as F2 throws ball to F1.

F1 misses the ball but F3, on the mound, catches the ball.

R1 skids and goes back to third then turns and rushes toward home.

Is this an out under the lookback rule?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

The way the lookback rule is written, the pitcher must be the one in possession of the ball while in the circle. The stipulation to that is the pitcher can NOT be attempting to make an additional play. The way you’ve said both situation, I don’t have a lookback.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
3 hours ago, Aging_Arbiter said:

...............and cue @beerguy55

haha

As stated - neither apply as it isn't the pitcher with the ball in the circle.

The purpose of the rule is around the idea that if the pitcher has the ball in the circle he/she is getting ready to face the next batter, action has either ended, or just about to - if the pitcher is not showing any aggression to the runners we want the runners to quickly go one direction to a base to get the game moving along.   

Even if it was F1 holding the ball in the circle in either scenario we'd need more information.  If the pitcher is just holding the ball, you probably have outs.  If the pitcher so much as raises the ball in an act, or a feint, to throw, the runners are fine to do what they want.   Once the pitcher starts effectively ignoring the runner (beyond looking at them) the runner(s) must quickly decide which way to go and commit to it.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×