Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
grozzly

batter interference

Recommended Posts

OBR. 2-men system. French elite game.
Situation: R1, no outs.
I'm PU. R1 stealing with the batter swinging. The batter swings & miss, and interferes with the catcher's throw to 2nd base. I call the interference and let the play go on as the throw goes to 2nd. But the runner gets into a rundown, and is retired.
The pbuc says that the throw must retire the runner "directly", but OBR just say that if the runner is retired by the throw, we must ignore the interference.

My question: should i have enforce the interference as the runner has been caught in a rundown or should i've let the play stand wtih batter back at bat and runner out on the rundown?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

From the 2017 Jaksa/Roder manual (p. 98):

If the catcher throws and the batter interferes but the throw directly results in retiring the runner, the ball remains live and the interference is disregarded. If the catcher has attempted to throw, but is unable to do so, or his throw does not immediately retire the runner being played against (causes a rundown or goes wild, or the runner played upon is safe), the ball is dead. The batter is out for his interference, and all runners must return to their last base legally touched before the interference. (6.03a-3 Comment)

So, when the throw does not directly retire the runner, enforce the interference by calling the batter out and return all runners to their TOP base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, kill it immediately and enforce the batter INT.

My question is:

8 hours ago, grozzly said:

French elite...

Isn't that redundant? :D

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

;);) very funny ^^

The level in France is not that bad as you could think. Elite is the "highest level..." in category senior. There are some good pitchers above 85mph (1 or 2 90mph+). Each of the 12 teams have imports from the US, Venezuela, Dominican Rep.....to elevate their level and play European cups. For the US pitchers who come in France for the season, some played at NCAA level, A, or AA. 
I would say that for an amateur umpire like me, it's incredible to have the dish on such pitchers. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

De rien, monsieur grozzly. Also, please note that I did not say anything to denigrate French baseball--jokingly or otherwise.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/1/2019 at 2:37 AM, grozzly said:

OBR. 2-men system. French elite game.
Situation: R1, no outs.
I'm PU. R1 stealing with the batter swinging. The batter swings & miss, and interferes with the catcher's throw to 2nd base. I call the interference and let the play go on as the throw goes to 2nd. But the runner gets into a rundown, and is retired.
The pbuc says that the throw must retire the runner "directly", but OBR just say that if the runner is retired by the throw, we must ignore the interference.

My question: should i have enforce the interference as the runner has been caught in a rundown or should i've let the play stand wtih batter back at bat and runner out on the rundown?

Your interpretation of the PBUC manual is correct. Stop and enforce the BI when the initial throw does not retire the runner. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×