Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Newump

Infield Fly

Question

Guest Newump

 

NFHS

R1, R2. 1 out. Batter pops it up to the shortstop, the shortstop can catch the batted ball with ordinary effort.  Question is which umpire makes initial "Infield Fly" call, U1 or Plate Umpire?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Proper mechanics would dictate that all fly balls in the middle of the infield are the responsibility if U1.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

U1 would make the original call, echoes by PU. However, PU should still call it, even if U1 misses it. Both umpires have the role to call infield fly when it's in effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Either, both, it doesn't much matter. A couple times I've been U1 and had to bail because the fielder was coming right at me. PU called it, as he should have.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×