Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest R. Duke

The Fielder Runs For His DH

Question

Guest R. Duke

It is my understanding that if the fielder runs for his DH who reached base then this is not 

considered a substitution for the fielder, yes/no?  Of course the DH is dead and he has 

reentry rights but but when the fielder ran for him does this count as the DH being

"subbed out"?

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
12 minutes ago, Guest R. Duke said:

It is my understanding that if the fielder runs for his DH who reached base then this is not 

considered a substitution for the fielder, yes/no?  Of course the DH is dead and he has 

reentry rights but but when the fielder ran for him does this count as the DH being

"subbed out"?

Thanks

Assuming you are talking about FED, the DH has left the game and can reenter once. The defensive player has not left the game and still can be subbed for by another player or the DH and still has one reentry.

"Rule: 3.1.4


3.1.4 SITUATION C: 

F4, for whom the DH is batting, pinch hits or pinch runs for the DH. 

RULING: The DH position is eliminated for the remainder of the game. However, the starting DH could re-enter as a player but not in the role of DH. If he does re-enter, he must re-enter in the same position in the batting order, replacing F4.
"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×