Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Double Up

Pitcher goes to his mouth and into the glove

Question

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Which rule set, Mr. Double Up? Each code handles this issue differently. Here are a couple of case book plays to illustrate the FED rule 6-2-1e:

2018 6.2.1 Situation A: With no runners on base, F1 places his pitching hand on his mouth and distinctly wipes off his pitching hand prior to touching the ball. (a) while not touching the pitcher’s plate, (b) while touching the pitcher’s plate. Ruling:  (a) Legal; (b) Illegal, and a ball shall be awarded to the batter’s count.

2018 6.2.1 Situation B:  With R1, F1 places his pitching hand on his mouth and distinctly wipes off his pitching hand prior to touching the ball (a) while not touching the pitcher’s plate or (b) while touching the pitcher’s plate in the set position. Ruling:  Legal in (a). In (b), the pitcher has balked and R1 is awarded second base. (6-1-3)

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

The OBR cite is Rule 6.02(c)1):

The pitcher shall not: (1) While in the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitcher’s plate, touch the ball after touching his mouth or lips, or touch his mouth or lips while he is in contact with the pitcher’s plate. The pitcher must clearly wipe the fingers of his pitching hand dry before touching the ball or the pitcher’s plate.

EXCEPTION: Provided it is agreed to by both managers, the umpire prior to the start of a game played in cold weather, may permit the pitcher to blow on his hand.

PENALTY: For violation of this part of this rule the umpires shall immediately remove the ball from play and issue a warning to the pitcher. Any subsequent violation shall be called a ball. However, if the pitch is made and a batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a hit batsman or otherwise, and no other runner is put out before advancing at least one base, the play shall proceed without reference to the violation. Repeat offenders shall be subject to a fine by the League President.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, johnpatrick said:

OBR.  First offense, remove the ball and issue a warning.  Subsequent violations, remove the ball, add a ball to the count...never a balk.

Would it be a balk if he went to the gum in his mouth:)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 11/10/2018 at 10:46 PM, Senor Azul said:

Which rule set, Mr. Double Up? Each code handles this issue differently. Here are a couple of case book plays to illustrate the FED rule 6-2-1e:

2018 6.2.1 Situation A: With no runners on base, F1 places his pitching hand on his mouth and distinctly wipes off his pitching hand prior to touching the ball. (a) while not touching the pitcher’s plate, (b) while touching the pitcher’s plate. Ruling:  (a) Legal; (b) Illegal, and a ball shall be awarded to the batter’s count.

2018 6.2.1 Situation B:  With R1, F1 places his pitching hand on his mouth and distinctly wipes off his pitching hand prior to touching the ball (a) while not touching the pitcher’s plate or (b) while touching the pitcher’s plate in the set position. Ruling:  Legal in (a). In (b), the pitcher has balked and R1 is awarded second base. (6-1-3)

Gracias Senor!

In this situation,  F1 neglected to wipe his hand at all... it was straight to the mouth and directly into the glove.   FED and OBR are perfect.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
20 minutes ago, Double Up said:

Gracias Senor!

In this situation,  F1 neglected to wipe his hand at all... it was straight to the mouth and directly into the glove.   FED and OBR are perfect.

 

So what rule set was the game under? It would be a balk by FED rule. I'm not a fan of the rule but FED insists.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
8 hours ago, Jimurray said:

So what rule set was the game under? It would be a balk by FED rule. I'm not a fan of the rule but FED insists.

And the worst part is FED insists it’s a balk because moving the hand to the mouth is the start of his motion to pitch, while moving the hand to adjust his cap is nothing. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
10 hours ago, Jimurray said:

So what rule set was the game under? It would be a balk by FED rule. I'm not a fan of the rule but FED insists.

The game was a Colt Div (Pony League) playoff,  which uses OBR, then Pony rulebook for modifications. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
29 minutes ago, Double Up said:

The game was a Colt Div (Pony League) playoff,  which uses OBR, then Pony rulebook for modifications. 

So your coach might have experienced a previous FED game where the FED caseplay and POE, note the lack of “rule” in the previous verbiage, was applied. Or he was MSU. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×