Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Guest Eric Bradford

Tag

Question

Guest Eric Bradford

A catcher tags a runner then the ball goes up in the air and the catcher catches it. The ball never hit the ground.  Is this a tag? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest Eric Bradford said:

A catcher tags a runner then the ball goes up in the air and the catcher catches it. The ball never hit the ground.  Is this a tag? 

No.

Rule:  

"A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body
while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching
a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball (not
including hanging laces alone), while holding the ball securely and
firmly in his hand or glove. It is not a tag, however, if simultaneously or
immediately following his touching a base or touching a runner, the
fielder drops the ball."

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
1 hour ago, Rich Ives said:

...the fielder drops the ball."

Or in the case if the OP. The fielder temporarily loses control of the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×