Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest vortex2222

running lane interference on attempted 4-2-3 double play.

Question

Guest vortex2222

If the catcher receives a throw at home to make a force out and attempts to throw to first to make a double play if he hits the runner with the ball who is a 5 feet from the base and slightly to the left of the baseline is it interference or is that lifted as it was not a fielded ball being thrown .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Yes, Mr. vortex2222, there can be interference on the batter-runner in your play. Here’s the applicable rule—

2018 OBR rule 5.09(a)(11) In running the last half of the distance from home base to first base, while the ball is being fielded to first base, he runs outside (to the right of ) the three-foot line, or inside (to the left of ) the foul line, and in the umpire’s judgment in so doing interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base, in which case the ball is dead; except that he may run outside (to the right of ) the three-foot line or inside (to the left of ) the foul line to avoid a fielder attempting to field a batted ball;

And here is a case play found in the 2016 BRD (section 360, p. 240):

R3, 1 out. B1 hits to the pitcher, who throws home but not in time for an out. F2 fires to first and hits BR not in the running lane. Ruling:  BR is out. Because the defense played on another runner before BR interfered, runners return TOI: The run scores.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
9 hours ago, Guest vortex2222 said:

If the catcher receives a throw at home to make a force out and attempts to throw to first to make a double play if he hits the runner with the ball who is a 5 feet from the base and slightly to the left of the baseline is it interference or is that lifted as it was not a fielded ball being thrown .

it can still be RLI -- the usual rules / judgment apply.

The force out (or tag out attempt) is an "intervening play" -- and this affects the base to which other runners return if RLI is called.  Under OBR and NCAA, RLI usually reuslts in runners being returned TOP.  With the intervening play, they are returned TOI.

(Under FED, it's always TOI.)

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, noumpere said:

it can still be RLI -- the usual rules / judgment apply.

The force out (or tag out attempt) is an "intervening play" -- and this affects the base to which other runners return if RLI is called.  Under OBR and NCAA, RLI usually reuslts in runners being returned TOP.  With the intervening play, they are returned TOI.

(Under FED, it's always TOI.)

It's interesting that the BRD uses this phrase, " BR is out. Because the defense played on another runner before BR interfered, runners return TOI", when OBR does not actually address a play on another runner except the intervening play at home plate. NCAA actually does address any intervening play. It would be rare to have to apply the rule with a play other than at home plate so my concern will remain semantic.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×