Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
stkjock

You Make The Call

Recommended Posts

 Friend sent me this video of a play at the plate his son's team was involved in. 16U under Fed as I understand it.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
4 hours ago, stkjock said:

 Friend sent me this video of a play at the plate his son's team was involved in. 16U under Fed as I understand it.

Do you have a question? I can't tell what PU called: it appears he signaled safe, then time, then wandered out to BU after words with the coach.

Pretty obviously OBS, but the mechanics (other than setting up at 3BLX) need some work.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The question is the call at the plate. 

 

I didn’t thnk obvious OBS as F2 is in the act of fielding the ball when taken into the base path and he is in possession of the ball prior to R3 reaching him.  In real time, bang - bang play and hard to fault a call either way IMO. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

46 minutes ago, stkjock said:

The question is the call at the plate. 

 

I didn’t thnk obvious OBS as F2 is in the act of fielding the ball when taken into the base path and he is in possession of the ball prior to R3 reaching him.  In real time, bang - bang play and hard to fault a call either way IMO. 

#1- There is no "in the act of fielding" in FED.

I've got OBS all day. F2 set up right in the path and was waiting there for the ball to arrive.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2008 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 13: Without the ball in possession, the catcher sets up in the base path, but does allow access to part of home plate. As the ball and the runner converge at home simultaneously, the runner contacts the catcher. RULING: As long as the umpire judges that the catcher provided access to the plate for the runner, this is not obstruction. With the play in motion and the timing such that it is about to occur, a fielder may be in the base path without the ball, provided he allows the runner access to the base or home plate. (2-22-3)

2018 FED Case Book Play 8.3.2 Situation C:  F2 is in the path between third base and home plate while waiting to receive a thrown ball. R3 advances from third and runs into the catcher, after which R3 is tagged out. Ruling:  Obstruction. F2 cannot be in the base path without the ball in his possession, nor can he be in the base path waiting for a ball to arrive without giving the runner some access to home plate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The other thing that I didn't like was PU allowing DHC to shop for a call with his partner. If the call was safe/obstruction, I can't see a reason to confer with his partner.

That said, it is an uncommon play/call. If he went out to take a second to collect his thought, confirm what he had, then that wouldn't be the worst thing to happen. And the conference and subsequent discussion with DHC didn't take too long.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/15/2018 at 6:58 PM, stkjock said:

The question is the call at the plate. 

 

I didn’t thnk obvious OBS as F2 is in the act of fielding the ball when taken into the base path and he is in possession of the ball prior to R3 reaching him.  In real time, bang - bang play and hard to fault a call either way IMO. 

F2 is "technically" in possession of the ball prior to R3 getting there - if by "getting there" you mean the instant they collide.   However, R3 has started sliding, and is attempting to get to a plate to which he has no access, well before F2 has the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Under FED, I have obstruction all day, every day, and twice on Sunday.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, lawump said:

Under FED, I have obstruction all day, every day, and twice on Sunday.

You might have OBS in NCAA this next year also. And, I'm thinking it might be OBS in OBR also depending on whether you judge a legitimate reaction to the hop.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Obstruction. The catcher was not fielding the ball when he did not provide access to the runner from 3rd base to reach home. Only after the catcher possesses the ball may he block the base from the runner. R3 scores on this play. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i'M LATE TO THIS PARTY.... this looks like the venue i work at during spring/summer/fall tourneys.. MOST of the tourneys held there are run under OBR (MLB) rules, with a few exceptions, including the FED "slide or avoid" rule at any base (mainly, take out slides at second, FED applies) and FED fake to third is legal. This OBS (or lack there of) would be interpreted under OBR not FED for this tourney, most likely. That being said, my judgement at speed and after review would have been definitely OBS under FED rules, and, although not as obvious, I would have had OBS at speed under OBR as well, being that the catcher hopped into the baseline early even though he was receiving a throw from the right side, and had a chance to catch it clean and move into the baseline with the ball in plenty of time to apply the tag. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What about the left foot of the catcher? It seems pretty obvious that he kicked at R3 in attempt to obstruct the runner's path to the plate. I don't think this would qualify, but it does bring up something worth considering - how severe does a kick like that from F2 have to be to qualify for MC? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't see a kick, but a repositioning of his legs for the block of the plate. It just so happened the runner was there when he did it.

To call MC on something like this, it would need to be an obvious kick at the player.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OBS in FED and NCAA. When the runner  entered the dirt circle,  the fielder has blocked access to the plate without the ball. All in the span of 1 second. That how fast these things happen. Great video. Too bad the PU didn't sell the $hit out of that call. That's a must in any situation like this. That's the difference between a good umpire and a great umpire.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×