Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Allen

giving count

Question

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

It depends. I'll give the count sometimes after a foul ball before putting the ball back in play. Maybe after several pickoff attempts, or SB or WP. If action is continuous I'll rarely give it. But I think I know what you're getting at

I'm guessing you're asking about the timing of giving the count between pitches?  This is a pet peeve of mine, very common with untrained umpires. A pitcher will be on the rubber, just about ready to go into his motion and PU will bellow "TWO BALLS ONE STRIKE!!!!!"... Causing the pitcher to flinch, or the batter to duck from being startled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

Without anything happening which would distract the players such as a pick off attempt, steal, an out being recorded somewhere... Normally I give the count with a 1-2 or 2-1, then 3-2... After several foul balls I'll give the count... anytime a player asks, I'll tell them the count, but then I assume the rest have forgotten as well and may announce the count.

I love it after one pitch when the batter asks... like really?  You took one pitch :clap:

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I give the count after something funky happens, when the scoreboard is wrong, or when I'm asked.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×