Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Guest coach14

balk?

Question

Guest coach14

is it a balk if a RHP uses an inside move with R2 and throws the ball to F6 who is in his normal position???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

No. The only base that the pitcher needs to throw directly to is 1st (and 3rd if you are playing under OBR).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
15 minutes ago, Guest coach14 said:

is it a balk if a RHP uses an inside move with R2 and throws the ball to F6 who is in his normal position???

Only in high school in NJ. :Cool2:;)

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest coach14
5 minutes ago, Richvee said:

Only in high school in NJ. :Cool2:;)

can you elaborate? I'm in nj

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest coach14 said:

can you elaborate? I'm in nj

We'll , that might explain your umpire calling a balk.

Its a bit of an inside joke. You see , all rule sets and interpretations agree, since a feint to 2nd is legal, a feint can be a throw not directly to the base.  It is not a balk in any ruleset. ----Assuming F6 isn't closer to an unoccupied 3rd base  -- thats  another issue .

anyway...

A few years back, on the New Jersey High School umpire refreshed test that we are required to take each year ,  this exact question was on the test. NJSIAA said the answer is this is a balk. They would not listen to opposing few points at meetings or through emails. So the running joke is it's not a balk in any code anywhere unless you're playing HS baseball in NJ. 

Perhaps your umpire is a believer in the NJSIAA interpretation

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Yes indeed. We were were basically told " They say the answer is a balk, Let's move on":smachhead:

Side note. I believe that is Dan Merzel speaking. Umpiring in the Arizona Fall league this season. :clap:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On ‎10‎/‎7‎/‎2018 at 7:18 PM, BT_Blue said:

No. The only base that the pitcher needs to throw directly to is 1st (and 3rd if you are playing under OBR).

And now NCAA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 10/11/2018 at 1:50 PM, BT_Blue said:

That is going to take some getting used to.

After working Babe Ruth and some older OBR based leagues in the summer of '17,  I found myself flinching on the fake to third move in FED this spring. Now with NCAA going that route, the flinching in high school may get worse.  Hopefully it doesn't escalate into an erroneous balk call during a FED game. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×