Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Biscuit

Ball out of play on dropped third strike

Recommended Posts

14u Major game playing house rule modified ORB, R2, 2 outs. Batter swings at ball in the dirt for strike three, and takes off for 1st. Catcher takes his time, and throws to first, hitting the BR in the back, and the ball rolls into the 1st base dugout. I ruled it dead, all runners get two bases time of pitch as it's the first throw from the infield. In this situation it doesn't matter if it's TOP or TOT, but if there was R1 2 outs, R1 steals on the pitch and reaches second before the catcher throws, then it matters (which is what I thought happened, because somehow I didn't realize we had R2 instead of R1... Yikes.) 

What I'm unsure of is if it is a TOP award, due to it not being a batted ball. I believe I got this correct, but I just want to make sure. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
38 minutes ago, Biscuit said:

all runners get two bases time of pitch as it's the first throw from the infield

That exception applies to a batted ball only.

39 minutes ago, Biscuit said:

What I'm unsure of is if it is a TOP award, due to it not being a batted ball.

No, for the reason you mention.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, maven said:

That exception applies to a batted ball only.

No, for the reason you mention.

Thanks Maven! Luckily it didn't matter in this instance, but glad I asked!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was the B/R in the lane? You might be missing interference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm confused by the stealing part. With 2 outs, it shouldn't matter that 1B is occupied, so it's a live ball even if R1 doesn't make it to 2B in time. As for the ToP vs ToT in that situation, all runners would need to get to the next base in order for it to be ToT. And since F2 is throwing to 1B, I'm going to assume that B/R hasn't made it there yet. 

Am I missing something?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, Mister B said:

I'm confused by the stealing part. With 2 outs, it shouldn't matter that 1B is occupied, so it's a live ball even if R1 doesn't make it to 2B in time. As for the ToP vs ToT in that situation, all runners would need to get to the next base in order for it to be ToT. And since F2 is throwing to 1B, I'm going to assume that B/R hasn't made it there yet. 

Am I missing something?

The OP had R2, which made TOP or TOT irrelevant. He was wondering, if the situation was R1, R1 stealing and reaching 2B prior to F2's throw to retire BR, would R1 get 3rd or home.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×