Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Godzilla

Sac Fly

Question

Guest Godzilla

Sac fly question....

Runner on third.

Ball hit to centerfield , he jungles with it drops it but the ball is caught by left field before it reaches the ground for an out...When can the runner leave the base and start running for home ? When the ball is touched by the centerfield or when the ball is caught by the left field for an out ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

He can legally tag up after the ball is originally touched. So in your example, as soon as the ball touches F8's glove, the runners may leave their base. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

From the 2018 Official Baseball Rules Definitions of Terms:

Catch

Comment: A catch is legal if the ball is finally held by any fielder, even though juggled, or held by another fielder before it touches the ground. Runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×