Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Leanne

Does run count

Question

Guest Leanne

Bases loaded, two outs. Batter hits ball down 3rd base line. Runner crosses plate. Ball hits 3rd base. Third baseman picks up ball and touches 3rd base. Does the run count?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

So, R2 was forced out?  Then, of course, no run scores.

If this play had just been "bases loaded, grounder to F5 who steps on third to force out R2" then you would not have a question.  The ball hitting third base is nothing (except that it makes the ball fair).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
7 minutes ago, Guest Leanne said:

Bases loaded, two outs. Batter hits ball down 3rd base line. Runner crosses plate. Ball hits 3rd base. Third baseman picks up ball and touches 3rd base. Does the run count?

When there is a force play (whether the base or runner is tagged) it doesn't matter that the runner crosses home plate before the third out was made.   It's no different than if the runner crossed home plate and then the third baseman threw the runner out at first.   The batter, and all forced runners, must reach their base safely - if any of them is the third out before that happens the run can't count.

If the runner had rounded third and then was tagged by the fielder the run would count.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×