Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Bigbrave41

Out or not

Question

Guest Bigbrave41

Ball is hit in line drive fashion back at the pitcher who catches the ball in the glove but the glove is knocked off his hand and falls to the ground with the ball still in the glove .

Is the batter out or not

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

Mr. maven’s monosyllabic reply is correct. Here’s a case play from the FED (but all codes agree) that explains why--

2008 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 2: A sharp line drive is hit to the second baseman. The impact of the ball takes the glove off the second baseman's hand, and the glove lands on the ground with the ball still in the pocket of the glove. The second baseman retrieves the glove and takes the ball out of the pocket. Is this a catch or must the ball be thrown to first base in an attempt to record the out? RULING: This is not a catch. To record the out on the batter-runner, the second baseman would need to throw the ball to first in an attempt to obtain the force out. A catch is an act of a fielder gaining secure possession in his hand or glove of a live ball in flight and firmly holding it. (2-9-1)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
18 hours ago, maven said:

Not.

Long winded as always!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×