Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Miket49

Is the game over?

Question

Guest Miket49

Runners on the corners with 1 out. Batter hits a fly ball to right, which is caught. Runner at 3rd tags up legally and scores. However, the batter never touches first base. He just walks into the dugout. Is the game really over at this point? Doesn't the batter have to complete the play and touch first base?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Why would the batter have to touch first base after he is out? What would be the penalty to him anyways, since he is already out?  You wouldn't be able to call him out a second time. 

  • Haha 1
  • Confused 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
41 minutes ago, Guest Miket49 said:

Runners on the corners with 1 out. Batter hits a fly ball to right, which is caught. Runner at 3rd tags up legally and scores. However, the batter never touches first base. He just walks into the dugout. Is the game really over at this point? Doesn't the batter have to complete the play and touch first base?

why would the game be over with two outs?

the play is complete for the batter when RF catches the ball

Unless the run scored was in the bottom of the last inning or extras - play on....  two outs - next batter 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

This Ask the Umpire question would make sense with the following corrections:

Runners on the corners with 1 out. Batter hits a fly ball to right, which is caught. Runner at 3rd tags up legally and scores. However, the batter runner on first never re-touches first base. He just walks into the dugout. Is the game really over at this point? Doesn't the batter runner on first have to complete the play and re-touch first base? 

And the answer would be, yes, the game is over even if the defense appealed the runner on first's failure to retouch 1B after the run scored. That out would not be not a force play, it is an appeal ... a "time play". If that out happened before the run scored, then the run would not count. If that out happened after the run scored, then the run would count...game over.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×