Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Matt

Trapped ball at first

Question

Guest Matt

On a force play at first, the first baseman drops the ball that is thrown to him.  He then places his hand over the ball and "secures" it against the ground.  That is, lets assume the fielder has control of the ball while his foot is touching the base, but the ball is still touching the ground.  The ball is still touching the ground as the runner reaches the base.

Out or safe?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Guest ARK1215

The fielder has control of the ball so OUT assuming all you have stated occurs prior to the runner reaching he base. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest Matt said:

On a force play at first, the first baseman drops the ball that is thrown to him.  He then places his hand over the ball and "secures" it against the ground.  That is, lets assume the fielder has control of the ball while his foot is touching the base, but the ball is still touching the ground.  The ball is still touching the ground as the runner reaches the base.

Out or safe?

 

Definition in the rules:  "A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove;"

 

If the fielder meets the highlighted part it's valid even if the ball is also touching the ground -  and an out.

BUT if the fielder just has the ball pinned without grasping it to meet the highlighted part then it is not valid and the B-R is safe. Your description of "places his hand over the ball and "secures" it against the ground" makes it sound more like this.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Agree with Ives. Pinning the ball to the ground with the glove might in some sense "secure" it, but definition of TAG requires that the ball be securely held IN the glove.

The fielder can sometimes demonstrate secure possession after the runner passes: mechanically, we want to wait for the subsequent evidence of secure possession (in the glove) at the time of the tag prior to ruling safe/out.

And please don't say, "show me the ball!"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

To add to Ives and Maven, if the fielder can lift the ball without regrouping it, then he had conttrol.  If he needs to regroup it or if the ball remains on the ground when he lifts the hand/glove, then he did not have control

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The FED definition of catch in rule 2-9-1 actually mentions the ball touching the ground--

2017 NFHS rule 2-9-1 NOTE: When a batted ball or a pitch is involved, the above definition of a catch applies. For any other thrown ball, the term is used loosely to also apply to a pick-up or to the trapping of a low throw which has touched the ground. A fielder may have the ball in his grasp even though it is touching the ground while in his glove.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×