Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Bob

Force out

Question

Guest Bob

Runner on first ground ball to infielder fielder throws to first runner beats the throw. First baseman throws to second is their still a force at 2nd base

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
34 minutes ago, Guest Bob said:

Runner on first ground ball to infielder fielder throws to first runner beats the throw. First baseman throws to second is their still a force at 2nd base

Let’s answer your question, Bob, with another question... why wouldn’t there be (still a force at 2nd Base)?

 

 

Hint: Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest Bob said:

 runner beats the throw. 

If F3 catches the throw from the infielder and steps on 1st base or tags the batter/runner the force is removed and the runner would be safe at 1st. If F3 simply catches the throw from the infielder and throws to 2nd base WITHOUT stepping on 1st base or tagging the batter/runner then the force is still in place and the runner would be out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Here’s the applicable rule in Official Baseball Rules (I added the bold emphasis)--

OBR rule 5.09(b)

Any runner is out when…:

OBR rule 5.09(b)(6) He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. However, if a following runner is put out on a force play, the force is removed and the runner must be tagged to be put out. The force is removed as soon as the runner touches the base to which he is forced to advance, and if he overslides or overruns the base, the runner must be tagged to be put out. However, if the forced runner, after touching the next base, retreats for any reason towards the base he had last occupied, the force play is reinstated, and he can again be put out if the defense tags the base to which he is forced;

 

So, a runner is no longer forced (the force is removed) when—

Such runner has touched or passed his advance base (if such runner is beyond his advance base he is out only when tagged off base).

A trailing runner or the batter-runner is out. Exception:  if a trailing runner is out for abandonment or desertion, the force is not removed against lead runners.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, Jono said:

If F3 catches the throw from the infielder and steps on 1st base or tags the batter/runner the force is removed and the runner would be safe at 1st. If F3 simply catches the throw from the infielder and throws to 2nd base WITHOUT stepping on 1st base or tagging the batter/runner then the force is still in place and the runner would be out.

:confused:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
54 minutes ago, Richvee said:

:confused:

Wish I knew how to find these emojis and would post one scratching my head.  How did he not proof read what he posted?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
9 minutes ago, umpstu said:

Wish I knew how to find these emojis and would post one scratching my head.  How did he not proof read what he posted?

:HS

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 minute ago, Richvee said:

:HS

It's obvious that you have MadMax beat when it comes to emojis.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
15 hours ago, Guest Bob said:

Runner on first ground ball to infielder fielder throws to first runner beats the throw. First baseman throws to second is their still a force at 2nd base

Can R1 legally return to first?  No -- because BR is there and is safe.  So, R1 is "forced" from first.  It's just that simple.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×