Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
MadMax

F2-only Putout On U3K?

Recommended Posts

OBR, but would love to hear if this actually occurs in NCAA and/or Fed as well. We may need @Senor Azul and the rest of the Citation Conclave to comb the books, manuals, and interpretations for this one...

To preface, I was told this by a catcher (F2) who was catching during a game wherein my colleague crew called this. I’ve been examining the Rules book (I have no access to Manuals at this time), and I’ve found no indication, either way, to its validity...

Outs not important, but 1B is unoccupied. U3K on a clean swing. Ball is blocked by F2 and deflected into fair territory (this is supposedly important). According to the situation and call told to me, only the F2 can retrieve the ball and retire BR by tag or by putout (throw) to F3. If any other fielder picks it up (such as F1) and throws to 1B, then BR is not to be called Out.

Has anyone heard of anything like this? I’ll be consulting the crew-in-question in the next few days when we blend the crews together for the postseason.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
2 minutes ago, MadMax said:

According to the situation and call told to me, only the F2 can retrieve the ball and retire BR by tag or by putout (throw) to F3.

That's false in all codes, and AFAIK has never been the rule (except some particular umpire's MSU book).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Legal in mlb at least (yes, I know this is a few years old).

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe they're confusing it with the foul tip rule. A foul tip has to be caught by F2. Some years back, FED changed this, as they had a case play where B1 fouls it back, directly off F2's mitt, ball deflects out to F1 who catches it in the air. Used to be a foul tip..Not anymore. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, MadMax said:

OBR, but would love to hear if this actually occurs in NCAA and/or Fed as well. We may need @Senor Azul and the rest of the Citation Conclave to comb the books, manuals, and interpretations for this one...

 

This rule applies to BOTH D3K and a fair batted ball.  No one (I think) forces "only F2" to field the batted ball.  So, no one should force only F2 to field the ball on a D3K.

 

(10) After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first
base is tagged before he touches first base;

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Richvee said:

Maybe they're confusing it with the foul tip rule. A foul tip has to be caught by F2. Some years back, FED changed this, as they had a case play where B1 fouls it back, directly off F2's mitt, ball deflects out to F1 who catches it in the air. Used to be a foul tip..Not anymore. 

Kind of what I was thinking

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's just say for the sake of argument and humor that this is true.

Can F1 flip the ball to F2 to throw to F3 to legitimize the putout? What if it deflects so far that F3 can field it and tag the base himself? When does fair/foul ever matter on anything but a batted ball?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What do you got against a put out, sir? 

You won't find this proscription in any manual/rulebook/interpretation because it doesn't exist.

Turns out your catcher is an asshole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, BalkHawk said:

Turns out your catcher is an asshole.

As if to illustrate my point, of all the pitchers ever, Lester even knows all he has to do is pick it up and throw to 1st.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×