Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
42outs

Ball Kicked Out of Play in Outfield

Recommended Posts

So here's a situation...imagine there being an opening on both sides of the outfield where a ball can find it's way through. I know that if a ball finds it's way there without being touched, it's two bases from the time of pitch. I also know that if is intentionally kicked out of play or picked up and thrown out, it's two bases from the time of the throw or kick. However, what if the ball bounces around in the corner and then the outfielder running over accidentally kicks it out of play. By strict ruling, this would still be two bases from the time of the pitch, but imagine this ball being kicked out of play after the BR is already heading for third, or better yet, the BR is already heading home. OBR rule 8.01(c) seems like it would allow me to place the runners as I see fit. What about under NFHS rules? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Same rule under all codes -- if the ball had enough momentum to reach the opening on it's own and all the outfielder did was change the ball's direction -- two bases TOP.  If the ball wouldn't have made the opening on it's own, two bases TOK.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2018 FED Case Book Play 8.3.3 Situation J:  B1 singles to right field, (a) the ball rolls to a stop and F9, attempting to pick it up, kicks the ball into dead-ball territory or (b) the bouncing ball strikes F9 on the leg and deflects into dead-ball territory. RULING:  In (a), F9 applied the impetus that caused the ball to go into dead-ball territory, which is the same as if he had thrown it there. The award to any runner is two bases from the base occupied at the time of the kick (throw). In (b), the force on the batted ball caused the ball to go into dead-ball territory, so the award to any runner is two bases from the base occupied at the time of the pitch.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Impetus. That's your keyword. Impetus.

If the batter added the impetus that caused the fair, batted ball to go into dead-ball territory, that's two bases time of pitch, or a "ground rule double."

If the fielder slides, let's say in a last-ditch effort to stop a ball that's on its way to being a ground rule double, but accidentally kicks the ball out of play instead. He still hasn't added impetus. (Impetus.)

Now, the ball is ping-ponging around the corner. The fielder slides in to field it quicker. He accidentally kicks a ball, that would otherwise stay fair, out of play. (Impetus.) Impetus. The fielder made the fair, batted ball go out of play. (Impetus.) So you have 2 bases from the moment of impetus. (Impetus.)

In either case, it's two bags from the time of impetus.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×