Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
stkjock

Getting a Fourth out that’s really the Thrid Out

Recommended Posts

I’m sure Gil will have a write up on this.

Just happens in Mets vs Padres game

bases loaded two outs, play at the plate, R2 called out, F2 throws to F6 and tags R1 out near third   

On review, R2 ruled safe and R1 called out.....

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

So two runs score and the inning is over. Now the discussion turns to whether or not "umpire error" had an impact on the play. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

R1 has to know replay could change the call.

Similar to:

8.02(c ) Comment: Baserunners must be alert to the possibility that the base
umpire on appeal from the plate umpire may reverse the call of
a ball to the call of a strike, in which event the runner is in
jeopardy of being out by the catcher’s throw. Also, a catcher
must be alert in a base stealing situation if a ball call is
reversed to a strike by the base umpire upon appeal from the
plate umpire.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×