Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
lawump

How does this happen?

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

saw that yesterday and couldn't believe it, the video is making the rounds all over the internet

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know it seems like you couldn't possibly blow this call, but I've missed an obvious swing like this before.  I was working very bad softball, and I flinched hard on that up-and-in pitch, believing it was going to be the 5th or 6th time in that game that the catcher couldn't be bothered to move her glove and instead used my face to stop the ball.

What I can't put my head around: how does the base umpire get it wrong on the appeal?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
24 minutes ago, CJK said:

 

What I can't put my head around: how do three base umpires get it wrong on the appeal?

FTFY :D 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I almost want to say that this was rigged to go viral ....as if it was planned, ....it IS that bad :lol: 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, CJK said:

I know it seems like you couldn't possibly blow this call, but I've missed an obvious swing like this before.  I was working very bad softball, and I flinched hard on that up-and-in pitch, believing it was going to be the 5th or 6th time in that game that the catcher couldn't be bothered to move her glove and instead used my face to stop the ball.

What I can't put my head around: how does the base umpire get it wrong on the appeal?

I've had something like that, when the catcher stood up to receive a pitch heading toward my face.  I missed a full swing and had to go to my partner.  I'm guessing that the base umpire in this video wasn't paying attention.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, CJK said:

What I can't put my head around: how does the base umpire get it wrong on the appeal?

We’ve had this discussion on U-E’s forums before, @CJK! It stems from the opinion that “you (as BU) never refute your PU’s calls”, especially when appeals and pleadings are being done by the DT. That whole “don’t make my partner look bad” rationale.

Well, look what happened, even in the Mexican League! Those two umpires – the PU and U1 – got fired, and the other two of the four-man crew got reprimanded for not stepping in to fix it! Over a “check(ed)” swing!

You succeed as a crew and you fail as a crew.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
57 minutes ago, MadMax said:

Well, look what happened, even in the Mexican League! Those two umpires – the PU and U1 – got fired, and the other two of the four-man crew got reprimanded for not stepping in to fix it! Over a “check(ed)” swing!

hardly a checked swing in that video 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, stkjock said:

hardly a checked swing in that video 

Exactly. Obvious. Fix it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Missed in all of this is that, at least to me, the pitch, on its own merit, looks like a strike, regardless of any swing - side angle shown at end of video.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, beerguy55 said:

Missed in all of this is that, at least to me, the pitch, on its own merit, looks like a strike, regardless of any swing - side angle shown at end of video.

At the risk of giving PU way too much credit, maybe he was really focused on the location of the pitch because it was a borderline strike.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can someone imbed the video please!?  Yahoo not being kind to me. Thks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My first thought was there was an FU call in here somewhere.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
45 minutes ago, stevis said:

My first thought was there was an FU call in here somewhere.

My first thought was that a cartel had money on the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, how are you guys handling your PU partners who are getting chirped on by both teams due to a poorly called game, who will not even take 1 of 10 check swings. The batter's bat barrel points at the pitcher, and then the PU points to you 'every time' to take the heat off themselves and get them yelling at you when you call a strike. Looks like the base umpire sent that weak, horse manure no swing call, right back to his partner to tell him to grow a pair and take the heat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

My first thought was that a cartel had money on the game.

I think surely he could find a more subtle way to put a finger on the scale than this.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, basejester said:

I think surely he could find a more subtle way to put a finger on the scale than this.

 

Yeah, first inning, not yet time to pull the panic button. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
 
Both PU and U1 were suspended for the remainder of the Mexican League season over this call.
 

 

I just have no idea how this could happen. Both PU and U1 missed it. It reminds me of, I think, Ed Rapuano a few years back on a play at first involving the Tigers, but that was just one umpire.

 

It's just very strange. I'd ask if there's an issue of sports official corruption in Mexico, but that wouldn't even make sense here. It's the 0-1 pitch.

 

Does anyone have any ideas? It's just mind-boggling.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My .02:

Plate umpire blinked/flinched and verbalized "ball" F2 hears this and immediately makes his appeal to U1 who got caught day dreaming. 

It's a bad miss but I can see how it happened. 

Bummer that it was caught on video. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, johnnyg08 said:

My .02:

Plate umpire blinked/flinched and verbalized "ball" F2 hears this and immediately makes his appeal to U1 who got caught day dreaming. 

It's a bad miss but I can see how it happened. 

Bummer that it was caught on video. 

 

That's the toughest part of this for me. The fact that they both missed it. I'm sure we've all had a pretty bad miss at some point. It's just kind of bizarre that it happened to these two on the same play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Equally tough is neither U2 nor U3 stepped in, which is why they were officially cautioned by the league.

  • Like 1
  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, LRZ said:

Equally tough is neither U2 nor U3 stepped in, which is why they were officially cautioned by the league.

https://bleacherreport.com/articles/2786995-mexican-league-umpires-suspended-after-making-terrible-check-swing-call?utm_source=cnn.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=editorial

I just read that...two other umpires on the crew hung them out to dry. Bad all around.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×