Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest KAC

Batter walks

Question

Guest KAC

If a batter is walked and he over runs first base can the runner be tagged out while off the base. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

This used to be a rules difference depending on code, but FED (HS rules) recently changed to match the others.

The answer is no: the same provisions apply to a walk as to a single.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
16 hours ago, Guest KAC said:

If a batter is walked and he over runs first base can the runner be tagged out while off the base. 

See maven.  But, Including, if the runner fails to return immediately (umpire judgment) to first, or if he makes a move toward second, he would be out if tagged.

 

(corrected to be more clear.  Thanks to Coach Rich for pointing this out.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, noumpere said:

See maven.  But, if the runner fails to return immediately (umpire judgment) to first, or if he makes a move toward second, he would be out if tagged.

IOW it's just like on a single.  :)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Rich Ives said:

IOW it's just like on a single.  :)

Noumpere sometimes adds to an answer to help with the question the OP might have wanted to ask, but didn't.

He's pretty good at it, too. I had the same thought. But I'll usually wait to see whether the OP returns with a followup question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×