Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest NJ Coach

Feign to Third Balk ?

Question

Guest NJ Coach

I've been googling this a.m. and have found differing answers.

12U Ripken....R1 and R3.  Right-handed pitcher comes set.   R1 takes off for second, and pitcher feigns throw to 3B.    Balk ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
6 minutes ago, MDFinny said:

depends on the rule set they are playing under. OBR  - yes a balk. NFHS - not a balk.

And, to be clear, "R1 takes off for second" has nothing to do with the ruling.

I *think* Cal Ripken uses OBR, and I didn't see an exception in a quick perusal of the rule book available on-line.  So, this would be a balk.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Ripken is a part of Babe Ruth ... It's based on OBR and I am not aware of a specific difference in this instance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

2018 Babe Ruth/Cal Ripken rule 8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when —

(b) The pitcher, while touching his plate, feints a throw to first or third base and fails to complete the throw…

Rule 8.05(c) Comment: …A pitcher is to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base, and is required to throw (except to second base) because he steps. It is a balk if, with runners on first and third, the pitcher steps toward third and does not throw, merely to bluff the runner back to third; then seeing the runner on first start for second, turn and step toward and throw to first base. It is legal for a pitcher to feint a throw to second base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

 

3 minutes ago, Richvee said:

What about little league INT, Jrs  and Srs ?

I believe coach Ives has stated that the feint to 3B is still okay in LL.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
52 minutes ago, LMSANS said:

 

I believe coach Ives has stated that the feint to 3B is still okay in LL.

LL has not adjusted their book to the current OBR. In fact, they still have the rule in place where a literal rule reader (I know some) would use the LLG book 6.05(g) to call the batter out on a "double hit".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, LMSANS said:

 

I believe coach Ives has stated that the feint to 3B is still okay in LL.

Thanks.Doing some 50/70 LL tourney games next week. I better brush up. Haven't done LL in quite a while.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×