Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
DontSuck1977

Stepped off but kept his hands together -

Recommended Posts

Guys, 

Pitchers: with runners comes set and steps off but keeps his hands together.  I've heard that's a balk other guys have said that its not a balk. Too me,  it seems that's it's a move associated with the pitch but than I think is it really move....  he's not moving he's standing there.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

He just must drop the hands before re-engaging the rubber.  And, even then, it's just a "don't do that."

Now, being off the rubber and then joining the hands (as in a motion to come set) -- that's a horse of a different color.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Separating the hands and then stepping off is another. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎7‎/‎11‎/‎2018 at 3:49 PM, noumpere said:

He just must drop the hands before re-engaging the rubber

I've never heard it this way, I've always heard "separate" the hands.  Ultimately, the same result.

On ‎7‎/‎11‎/‎2018 at 3:29 PM, DontSuck1977 said:

steps off but keeps his hands together

 Let's say..........runner on 2nd.  He (R2) is checking F6 & F4 to see if he can continue getting a lead (or not).  WHILE R2 IS CHECKING,  F1 disengages, but DOES NOT separate his hands.  When R2 looks back up and sees hands together........ In the eyes of R2, he's still "safe" (no pun intended) to lead.  Whereas, if F1 disengages and separates his hands, R2 now realizes that the likelihood of being picked off has just increased drastically. 

 

And before I get lambasted about R2 should be more aware............I'm not saying he shouldn't.  I'm attempting to provide an example of advantage vs. disadvantage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Aging_Arbiter said:

 Let's say..........runner on 2nd.  He (R2) is checking F6 & F4 to see if he can continue getting a lead (or not).  WHILE R2 IS CHECKING,  F1 disengages, but DOES NOT separate his hands.  When R2 looks back up and sees hands together........

 

R2 should only watch the pitcher.  Watching F4/6 is the coach's job.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, noumpere said:

R2 should only watch the pitcher.  Watching F4/6 is the coach's job.

KEEP READING!!!

10 minutes ago, Aging_Arbiter said:

And before I get lambasted about R2 should be more aware............I'm not saying he shouldn't.  I'm attempting to provide an example of advantage vs. disadvantage

 

  • Confused 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some fields have crappy mounds and it can be tough to see exactly where the rubber is as well. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 hours ago, Aging_Arbiter said:

I've never heard it this way, I've always heard "separate" the hands.  Ultimately, the same result.

 Let's say..........runner on 2nd.  He (R2) is checking F6 & F4 to see if he can continue getting a lead (or not).  WHILE R2 IS CHECKING,  F1 disengages, but DOES NOT separate his hands.  When R2 looks back up and sees hands together........ In the eyes of R2, he's still "safe" (no pun intended) to lead.  Whereas, if F1 disengages and separates his hands, R2 now realizes that the likelihood of being picked off has just increased drastically. 

 

And before I get lambasted about R2 should be more aware............I'm not saying he shouldn't.  I'm attempting to provide an example of advantage vs. disadvantage.

Wouldn't the move to 2nd be the same here whether he was engaged or not?  I don't see an advantage gained. Even on a flip throw.

Now if F1 simulated a pitching motion...

There is/was a MLB rule which states the pitcher must separate his hands when stepping off, but that is from the windup. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Tborze said:

Wouldn't the move to 2nd be the same here whether he was engaged or not?  I don't see an advantage gained. Even on a flip throw.

Now if F1 simulated a pitching motion...

There is/was a MLB rule which states the pitcher must separate his hands when stepping off, but that is from the windup. 

If he’s off the rubber he can throw without stepping. That might be faster and or mor deceitful

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, noumpere said:

If he’s off the rubber he can throw without stepping. That might be faster and or mor deceitful

Ahh, just re-read where he separated his hands as in a motion to pitch. Still not illegal. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/11/2018 at 3:29 PM, DontSuck1977 said:

Guys, 

Pitchers: with runners comes set and steps off but keeps his hands together.  I've heard that's a balk other guys have said that its not a balk. Too me,  it seems that's it's a move associated with the pitch but than I think is it really move....  he's not moving he's standing there.  

To this question:  that's nothing, as long as it's a proper disengage

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Similar Content

    • By udbrky
      I was watching the Giants-A's game tonight and they were talking about a balk that was called in last night's game that they didn't understand. Dave Flemming recounted his discussion with Bill Miller before the game and said that it was a point of emphasis this year.
      I can't find a video online about it. Chris Bassitt is in the stretch, foot on rubber. Brings his hands together. Then, he steps back with his front foot (Lefty, he moved it towards 3B), then delivers the pitch. It's almost like he goes into a windup after he's come set.
      Here's a video with Price, but he moves it forward, then goes into his delivery.
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v568503883/bospit-price-fans-five-holds-pirates-to-one-run
      I can't recall ever seeing a pitcher do this in MLB.
    • By Thunderheads
      All links don't' have embed feature yet.............
      Pirates-Reds
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v464989983/?query=balk
      Dodgers-Angels (Kershaw)
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v466265883/?query=balk
      Rays-Tigers
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v465984983/?query=balk
      Jays-Red Sox
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v465144283/?query=balk
      Jays-Red Sox - AGAIN
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v465579083/?query=balk
       
       
    • By Thunderheads
      first .......Angel Hernandez at his best ....
      Your browser does not support iframes.

      Here's a subtle start/stop, but none the less....balk ..........
      Your browser does not support iframes.

      starts home.......comes to first ...........
      Your browser does not support iframes.

      ANOTHER start/stop ....more subtle, but still..............
      Your browser does not support iframes.

      Here's an odd move ...............
      Your browser does not support iframes.

      Another lefty going home, and throwing to first ........
      Your browser does not support iframes.

      And ....how about a 'no-stop' ..............
      Your browser does not support iframes.

    • By Mad Mike
      Hypothetical situations using OBR:
       
      (1)
      R2, outs don't matter. Pitcher balks, but continues his pitch. Umpire calls the balk. Batter goes to swing at pitch and hits catcher's mitt. Umpire calls "That's interference". Ball is not batted successfully.
      Do you give the manager his choice of penalties? Or do you penalize both?
       
      (2)
      R2, outs don't matter. R2 stealing on the pitch. Pitcher delivers. Catcher moves forward from crouch to receive pitch. Steps on plate to catch pitch. Batter does not swing. Catcher throws to F5 and retires runner.
       
      Now, I recall that a catcher's balk is only applicable with R3 and a squeeze attempt or steal of home. What would you have on this particular play?
       
       
    • By flastyle727
      ** I HAVE NOT SEARCHED OTHER THREADS FOR THIS ANSWER, I APOLOGIZE IN ADVANCE **
       
       Case Play -- CWS Final Game 1 -- F1 clearly balks, 1-2 seconds pass and UIC nails it, IMO the timing was excellent.
       
      Problem Statement: How do you use the proper timing and mechainc in lower level ball.  --  That was the College World Series, the coaches actually coach and most know the rules and etiquette of baseball. In lower levels, especially High School Varsity games in my area we have an issue with Coaches and Balks. 
       
      Example: F1 clearly balks, immediately OC yells from 3rd base "that's a balk, come on that's a balk" before the umpire can make the decision or call it.  Many umpires including myself on occassion will hesitate to make that call after the coach has yelled it first because it gives off the impression that the coached lead us into the call. It if was blatantly obvious I'd still make the call because the entire ball park knew it was a balk.
       
      Question: How do others handle Coaches and Balk mechanics?
       
      I have in the past, called the Balk, placed the runners and then approached the coach and given a warning for using the term "Balk". This tends to lend itself into more argument or discussion which I'd like to avoid.
       
      I've also seen some "old timers" say pretty funny things like " Well doggone Coach, I'm glad you saw that balk and the rest of us missed it, I didn't know you were that good!!!"  
       
       
      How do you guys handle this type of situation??
×