Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
DontSuck1977

Double Set - Balk

Recommended Posts

NFHS Rules - Summer HSDL - Sub Varsity Level.

The pitcher brought his hands together down low,  raised them about shoulder height and finally came to complete stop around about the chest area. He kind of stopped at different points however the motion fairly continuous, and he did finally stopped at the end.  Did, he balk?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
6 minutes ago, DontSuck1977 said:

NFHS Rules - Summer HSDL - Sub Varsity Level.

The pitcher brought his hands together down low,  raised them about shoulder height and finally came to complete stop around about the chest area. He kind of stopped at different points however the motion fairly continuous, and he did finally stopped at the end.  Did, he balk?

There's no "kind of stopped."  There's either stopped or not stopped.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He brings his hands together down low raises them up high, drops them a bit and comes to a stop prior to delivering the pitch.  I hope, I'm describing what I saw accurately. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, DontSuck1977 said:

He brings his hands together down low raises them up high, drops them a bit and comes to a stop prior to delivering the pitch.  I hope, I'm describing what I saw accurately. 

I understand.  It's what you said before.  My answer stands.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you have him coming to a complete stop and then moving again, any subsequent stop is a double set. If you see it, call it, but just make sure everything is stopped... 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, DontSuck1977 said:

He kind of stopped at different points however the motion fairly continuous

Pick one...be an umpire...make the call or no call. Have your explanation ready before asked. 

Understand that those there will probably second-guess you, no matter your choice...goes with the territory.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Ricka56 be an Umpire WTF does that mean...  I hope you're not trying to be a douche.

I assure you,  I made a firm decision on the field albeit right or wrong.  Plus.... had I called the balk for this motion,  I would have had no issue explaining what I had and why I called it.

My issue was that I had heard several interpretations on what is legal and even tonight a fellow official said, secondary sets were allowed which I've never heard.  

Apologies for the terrible explanation of what he was doing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Mudisfun said:

If you have him coming to a complete stop and then moving again, any subsequent stop is a double set. If you see it, call it, but just make sure everything is stopped... 

 

 

Thank you

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
47 minutes ago, DontSuck1977 said:

@Ricka56 be an Umpire WTF does that mean...  I hope you're not trying to be a douche.

He's not being a douche. "Be an umpire" is akin to an often used phrase around here where questions are asked and the answer depends largely on judgement..."Sometimes you just have to umpire"

I assure you,  I made a firm decision on the field albeit right or wrong.  Plus.... had I called the balk for this motion,  I would have had no issue explaining what I had and why I called it.

My issue was that I had heard several interpretations on what is legal and even tonight a fellow official said, secondary sets were allowed which I've never heard.  

That official is wrong. Once everything stops in the set, F1 cannot move the hands and stop again. You need to decide if everything stopped at the belt, and/or the shoulders, before everything stopping again at the chest. 2 stops = double set....Balk.

Apologies for the terrible explanation of what he was doing.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also... "stopped" means that EVERYTHING has come to a stop. If his hands stop, but he is still bouncing his foot or leg, he has not come to a stop.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Similar Content

    • By Mad Mike
      OBR Rule Set:
      Runner on First, outs don't matter. Pitcher rolls through coming set, delivers ball (count was 2-1). Umpires call "Balk". Batter takes pitch without swinging. R1 stealing on the pitch. Catcher throws it into centerfield.
      R1 rounds second and heads for third. 
      I think there was an error when the "Time" was called and the runner was placed back at second. R1 should have been allowed to advance at his own jeopardy. If he made third, then bonus for him. If he was thrown out, then under OBR-he is out.  We would nullify the pitch and play on, correct?
      ____________________________________
      I believe this was confused with an interference call where if the catcher does not retire the runner on the immediate throw-we kill the play.
      Any comments and/or rule references would be appreciated.
       
    • By Thunderheads
      Hi all ...
      I'm losing my mind .... (at least I think I am) but ....  A dropped ball by a pitcher is a balk (that doesn't cross the foul line) ONLY if he's touching the pitchers plate, yes?  Why do I think I remember seeing "either on the rubber or straddling" ??   All I'm finding is 6-2-4a
      Help! Thanks!
    • By chalen
      OBR. R1, stealing on the pitch. The pitcher using the set position balks by failing to come to a discernible stop but delivers the pitch. The batter lays down a bunt. F2 fields the batted ball and throws out the batter-runner at 1B. Obviously we have a no-pitch and we will enforce the balk. Because the batter did not achieve 1B, do we kill the play immediately when the out is recorded at 1B, regardless the location of R1? If R1 was already on 3B when the out was recorded, is R1 still returned to 2B?
    • By chalen
      R1 and R2 (on 1B and 2B, of course). The pitcher balks with a feint to 1B, then throws the ball past 1B. R2 scores, but R1 (who dove back to 1B and was slow to advance), is tagged out while attempting to reach 2B. So we enforce the balk. Obviously R1 gets 2B. Is R2 returned to 3B?
    • By rzanew
      10U Travel ball.  At this age you see some weird things!
       
      RHP with runner on first.  F1 lifts left leg (knee up), pivots, steps toward first and throws to F3 on the bag.  Pivot foot stays on/near the rubber.  Would this be a balk or legal play?
      My thinking at the time is that he is doing the same thing a LHP would do.  Namely lifting the non-pivot leg and then stepping directly toward first.  
       
      On reflection, I could see this as illegal, as he started his normal pitching motion (left leg lift) and did not complete the pitch.  But then why doesn't this apply to LHP?  Does RHP need to move the pivot foot first when making a pickoff move?  
       
×