Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest BlueBayou

NCAA balk rule

Question

Guest BlueBayou

NCAA rules,  if that matters. R1. F1 commits towards HP, but throws to 1B (R1 stealing). PU calls balk. F3 throws ball into LF and R1/R2 becomes R3. Should the balk be enforced  ?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Runners may advance beyond the awarded base at their own peril. The balk is technically enforced, and R1 advances to 3rd on the E3.

(Nevermind)

 

Edited by Richvee
wrong answer!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
17 minutes ago, Guest BlueBayou said:

NCAA rules,  if that matters. R1. F1 commits towards HP, but throws to 1B (R1 stealing). PU calls balk. F3 throws ball into LF and R1/R2 becomes R3. Should the balk be enforced  ?  

@Richvee if NCAA is same as OBR call time when F3 catches throw. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
5 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

@Richvee if NCAA is same as OBR call time when F3 catches throw. 

you're right Jim.For some reason I was thinking ball got past F3. :o

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
38 minutes ago, Richvee said:

you're right Jim.For some reason I was thinking ball got past F3. :o

So for our guest, the balk is enforced. Runner back to 2B. But in the OP you might have had an ump who was hazy on when to kill the ball. To tell the truth, even when we know the mechanic, our brain might not process fast enough to kill it when we should. But the runner should be put back at 2B. If he wasn’t the ump ate his balk call and hoped nobody noticed. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×