Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Alan B.

Fan interference?

Question

Guest Alan B.

 

If a fan reaches  over the outfield wall and into the field of play and touches the flyball but the outfield are still catches it, and is there and her friends or is it an out?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Interference with an out on the fly ball. Runners return to the base at the time of the pitch. If the umpire judged the ball wouldn't have been caught without interference, they should award the runners and batter the positions they would have reached.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
3 hours ago, Jakester5112 said:

Interference with an out on the fly ball. Runners return to the base at the time of the pitch. If the umpire judged the ball wouldn't have been caught without interference, they should award the runners and batter the positions they would have reached.

Nope. Fan interference is a god rule.Umpires place runners where they think they would have reached. An out may or may not be awarded.

 

6.01(e) Spectator Interference
When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball,
the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire
shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of
interference.
APPROVED RULING: If spectator interference clearly prevents
a fielder from catching a fly ball, the umpire shall declare
the batter out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 minute ago, Rich Ives said:

Nope. Fan interference is a god rule.Umpires place runners where they think they would have reached. An out may or may not be awarded.

 

6.01(e) Spectator Interference
When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball,
the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire
shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of
interference.
APPROVED RULING: If spectator interference clearly prevents
a fielder from catching a fly ball, the umpire shall declare
the batter out.

Yes, you are correct and I could've worded my answer a little better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×