Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Guest Pat

Run counting on force out

Question

Guest Pat

Here is the scenario wanting to see what the ruling is if the counts or does not count:

Base runner on third base (call him Jim) also base runner on first base (call him Steve). 1 out. The batter hits a fly ball to center field. Steve the base runner on first does not think the ball will be caught so Steve takes off to second. Jim the base runner on third tags up. The catch is made by the center fielder. Once the catch is made Jim correctly tags up and goes home. Steve is just past second base. The center fielder realizes that Steve has not tagged up so he throws the ball to the pitcher. The pitcher drops the ball but is still able to pick it up and run to first before Steve is able to make it back, causing the third out. Due to the pitcher dropping the ball and running it to first Jim easily scored before the third out was recorded. 

Question is does the run count because Jim scored before the third out, or because it was a force out the run does not count? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

15 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Yes to the first question.

No to the second. It is not a force out!  The run (Jim) scores, this is an appeal and a time play!  

This question seems to be the most asked, but you put it in a unique way!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
9 minutes ago, blue23ll said:

What?

OP had Steve just past 2B before he turned back. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, Guest Pat said:

The catch is made by the center fielder.

BR is now Out, and all Force-s are off.

2 hours ago, Guest Pat said:

or because it was a force out the run does not count? 

Not, no longer, and never is a Force out because the BR was retired on the caught fly ball.

Thus, as long as (a) runner(s) crosses the plate before the third out occurs, then run(s) score(s).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, Mister B said:

Did Steve retouch 2B on his way back? 

irrelevant. He was out on appeal leaving 1B early. If he retouched 2B or not he still didn't get back to 1B in time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, stkjock said:

He’s on second. Who’s on first 

I don't know!  Lmfao

I hope guest Pat gets it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
19 hours ago, Mister B said:

OP had Steve just past 2B before he turned back. 

Oh, Steve R1.  I thought you were talking about Steve F9, and I couldn't think of any rule obligating a defender to retouch 2B.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -1
16 hours ago, Richvee said:

irrelevant. He was out on appeal leaving 1B early. If he retouched 2B or not he still didn't get back to 1B in time.

Never know when there's going to be an errant throw. Gotta watch for any opportunity for an out. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×