Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Umpnblue

Runner Interference

Question

Guest Umpnblue

Scenario: Runner on 1B No Outs. Batter hits a popup to the First Baseman, the runner on 1B bumps into the First Baseman and ultimately drops the ball. Call is Deadball. Runner on 1B is called out for Interference and the Batter is also called Out. Is this a correct ruling?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

If the bump hindered F3 in making the catch INT was a correct ruling, however, on,y one out should be applied. Runner out and batter at first 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
3 hours ago, Guest Umpnblue said:

Scenario: Runner on 1B No Outs. Batter hits a popup to the First Baseman, the runner on 1B bumps into the First Baseman and ultimately drops the ball. Call is Deadball. Runner on 1B is called out for Interference and the Batter is also called Out. Is this a correct ruling?

Possibly correct, though in most cases where the INT happens near 1B, I'm not getting 2 outs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, Guest Umpnblue said:

Scenario: Runner on 1B No Outs. Batter hits a popup to the First Baseman, the runner on 1B bumps into the First Baseman and ultimately drops the ball. Call is Deadball. Runner on 1B is called out for Interference and the Batter is also called Out. Is this a correct ruling?

Was the runner in contact with the base when the bump happened?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

You would have to make a serious stretch to determine that the interference not only prevented the catch, but also prevented F3 from doubling off R1 before he got back to the base.   My supposition would be that if R1 didn't run into F3 he would have got back to the base.    However, if R1 was running AWAY from first when he bumped into F3, I could see the argument.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

If there was also a runner on second, then the ruling would be correct. (BR out on the infield fly; R1 out for INT).  Maybe the umpire got confused.  OR, maybe s/he just kicked it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×